Five Favourites for Friday

I know I’ve mentioned it before, but I really enjoy soup. It’s one of those things Bryan will eat when I make it, but isn’t crazy about the leftovers. So I try to make soups in small portions, which rarely turns out that way because I always want to make sure there is enough for me to have leftovers for a few days. Ramen is one of those soups that is easy to portion control. It comes in nice, individual-sized packages.

Exams are quickly approaching, so I’m looking for ways to eat quick and semi-healthy and cheap foods. I’ll be spending much of my time on campus. Probably on the 9th floor of the library (which is generally a quiet place to work). So it has to be portable. Instant noodles work well because you can transport them dry and just add water (and any other ingredients you pack).

This week’s Five Favourites for Friday post features ramen recipes (both for ideas for myself and any readers who are also students).

My favourite way to enjoy ramen noodles is my dad’s recipe. Which is to cook the soup according to the package and add whole prawns (shells on for added flavour) and a bit of low sodium soy sauce. Yum!

What’s your favourite way to enjoy ramen noodles?

Miso Ramen from Steamy Kitchen

Ramen-Style Pad Thai from Culinary Cara

Vegetarian Miso Ramen Soup from┬áJon Sookocheff’s Blog

Ramen with Stir-Fried Beef and Snap Peas

Anti-Ramen Noodle Soup from A Cozy Kitchen

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Oh, they all look wonderful! My hubby isn’t a huge fan of soup…except for chili. I love lighter, spicier soups…you’ve shared some wonderful options!

    Reply
  2. My favorite way to eat Ramen noodles is in that yummy cabbage salad that is made with the “oriental” flavor noodles. The noodles are actually crushed up and put in the salad uncooked and then a dressing is made with the seasoning packet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 548 other followers

