Guacamole Sauce Over Spaghetti Noodles

A few weeks back I bought everything to prepare guacamole for dinner… or so I thought! Turns out I forgot one of the most important ingredients: the tortilla chips. At that point, I was hungry and didn’t want to make a trip to the grocery store. I have this bad habit of spending too much on items I didn’t necessarily mean to buy if I go to the store while hungry.

Instead, I started browsing through recipes I’d bookmarked to see if there was something else I could make to use up the three perfectly ripe avocados that were on the counter. That’s when I came across the recipe for Creamy Avocado Pasta from Two Peas and their Pod. The original recipe calls for everything that I already had on hand to make the guacamole, and I decided to make a few adjustments: I added some tomatoes for colour (also, because I had them and they looked like a delicious addition), and a few slices of bacon (really, what doesn’t go well with bacon? I also wanted to add some meat to make the dish more appealing to Bryan).

Initially, I had a few hesitations about this one. Could pasta and guacamole really go together? Was I about to use the avocados that I had been looking forward to for a few days while they ripened on my counter in a dish I wouldn’t enjoy? Was I about to ruin the original recipe by making a few changes to include ingredients I had on hand?

How did it turn out? Delicious!

Would we make it again? Definitely!

What would I do differently? For one, I’d make a smaller portion. Half of what the recipe calls for. This was way too much food for two people. And because the avocado turns brown quite quickly, it doesn’t keep for more than a day.

If you do try this and want to save a portion for later, cover the leftovers with plastic wrap, pressing the wrap firmly against the pasta/sauce so that there is very little air in contact with the avocado. Then, cover it was foil so the avocado is kept in a dark place. Then, put it in the fridge for a maximum of 24 hours.

What is your favourite way to enjoy avocados?

Guacamole sauce over spaghetti noodles

Adapted from and inspired by Creamy Avocado Pasta by Two Peas and their Pod

Ingredients

  • 4 servings of spaghetti – approximate cost $1.00
  • 3 ripe avocados – approximate cost $3.00
  • 3 tablespoons lime juice – approximate cost $0.25
  • 4 cloves garlic, peeled – approximate cost $0.50
  • 3 tablespoons dried cilantro – approximate cost $0.25
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt – approximate cost $0.10
  • 1 pint of grape tomatoes, halved – approximate cost $2.00
  • 8 slices of bacon – approximate cost $2.50

Method

  1. Cook the bacon (I like to bake it in the oven to avoid grease splatters) and, if desired, crumble the bacon when completely cooked.
  2. Cook the spaghetti according to the package (prepare the sauce while the pasta is cooking).
  3. Prepare the avocados by removing the pit and scooping out the delicious green “meat” into the food processor (alternately, you can use a blender).
  4. Add the lime juice, garlic, cilantro and sea salt to the food processor.
  5. Process (or blend) until smooth.
  6. In a large mixing bowl, combine one serving of pasta and sauce, tossing until the pasta is well coated.
  7. Place in a serving bowl and top with tomato slices and bacon.
  8. Repeat for the remaining servings.
  9. Serve immediately and enjoy!

Makes  4 servings  (approximate cost: $2.40 per serving).

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Eva Taylor

     /  April 26, 2012

    I love avocado just plain, but a good guacamole is right up there, that’s for sure. Oh and there is the avocado and banana frozen pudding: http://kitcheninspirations.wordpress.com/2011/07/09/banana-chocolate-avocado-frozen-pudding/. I am not a huge lover of warm avocado; I do have an incredible recipe for cold soup http://kitcheninspirations.wordpress.com/2009/06/11/cold-avocado-soup-with-cilantro-oil/
    Now I’ve got avocado on my mind.
    Eva http://kitcheninspirations.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a comment