Improv Challnege: Corn and Butter

I’m so excited to be participating in another Improv Challenge hosted by Kristen from Frugal Antics of a Harried Homemaker! For those of you keeping track (I know I am for now), this is my third month participating in the challenge. Each month I strive to come up with something a bit more exciting or creative than the last.

Check out my previous Improv Challenge creations:

This month, the challenge ingredients are corn and butter. This combination of ingredients was especially difficult for me. Not that it isn’t a great combination, but because I love a simple cob of corn with butter. I rarely feel compelled to go beyond this with the ingredient combination. Generally, I will grill a few pieces of corn on the cob (husks on), roll it in butter, and season with salt and pepper.

This challenge forced me outside my comfort zone. I’m glad it did. The resulting salad is easy to make, affordable, and delicious. Best of all, the cilantro was fresh from my garden!

Cilantro Tomato Corn Salad with a Lemon-Butter Dressing

Adapted from Cilantro Tomato Corn Salad at AllRecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 2 cups frozen corn kernels – approximate cost $1.50
  • 1/4 cup butter – approximate cost $0.50
  • 3 teaspoons lemon juice – approximate cost $0.15
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped – approximate cost $1.50
  • 1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and finely chopped – approximate cost $0.15
  • 1/2 red onion, finely chopped – approximate cost $0.75
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro leaves, chopped – approximate cost $0.50
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt – approximate cost $0.05
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper – approximate cost $0.05

Method

  1. Soak the red onion pieces in a bowl of cold water for a minimum of 20 minutes.
  2. Melt butter in a pot over medium heat.
  3. Allow butter to brown.
  4. Add corn and lemon juice.
  5. Cook until corn is a vibrant yellow and heated through.
  6. Remove from heat and allow to cool.
  7. Drain the onions and place in a large mixing bowl.
  8. Add tomato pieces, jalapeño, cilantro, sea salt, pepper, and corn.
  9. Toss well so the lemon-butter coats the ingredients.
  10. Serve immediately and enjoy!

Makes 4 servings (approximate cost: $2.04 per serving).

Serving suggestions

Best if enjoyed the same day the salad is prepared. If kept in the fridge, tomatoes will lose some of their flavour and the butter will harden.



Leave a comment

25 Comments

  1. Yum! I have a very similar recipe I make quite a bit during the summer.

    Reply
    • Thanks! This was just slightly different from our usual salad as well. I liked it for the tomatoes and cilantro paired with the corn. The dressing was good too, a nice change from the usual balsamic vinegar.

      Reply
  2. Yummy! Gotta try this!!

    Reply
  3. Love the color and flavor combination in this recipe. Looks like a yummy potluck pleaser. I made a corn and pasta salad.

    Reply
  4. I adore corn salads. With all of those bright colors, yours is spectacular!

    Reply
    • Thanks Kristen! This was one of my first corn salads, and we loved it! It was very pretty with all of the colours, and we also loved the combination of flavours!

      Reply
  5. mmmmmmmmmmmmm — awesome looking salad! I can just about smell the cilantro…

    Reply
    • Thanks Melody! I really enjoyed the cilantro as well, but had to be careful not to add too much because not everyone else was as big of a fan.

      Reply
  6. I love the ingredients you used, filled with flavor. Isn’t it great having your very own herbs?

    Reply
  7. I forgot to mention in my last comment, how great the blue dish works with the salad. I love bright colors.

    Reply
    • Thanks Chaya! Yes, it’s great having fresh grown herbs! None of my herb plants survived last year, so I’m very much enjoying cooking with this year’s harvest!

      Thank you! It was definitely a coincidence that the colours work so well together. Our dishes are a lovely set of hand-me-downs.

      Reply
  8. This salad looks wonderful…simple, light and fresh! And somehow, those herbs taste so much better when you grow them yourself, don’t they! Beautiful dish!

    Reply
    • Thanks Anne! Anything grown at home seems sooo much better. This is the first time my herbs have made it. I’m so happy with my garden this year!

      Reply
  9. YUM!!! What a super salad!!! SO pretty and tasty :)

    Reply
  10. What a lovely recipe! This salad sounds so fresh and vibrant. Perfection! And your own herbs? I’m so impressed. I am severely lacking a green thumb.

    Reply
    • Thanks Kate! I’m realizing more and more that it takes time, patience, and practice to have a green thumb. There’s still much for me to learn… but I’m thrilled to finally have herbs that are actually growing in my garden!

      Reply
  11. What a great looking salad!

    Reply
  12. Looks delicious and what wonderful flavors.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my Improv Cooking Challenge entry: Fritos Crusted Pollock.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

    Reply
    • I did see your Fritos Crusted Pollock Lisa, and it looks fantastic! I love the simplicity of the recipe. It was very creative, a great submission for the Improv Challenge!

      Reply
  13. MMMMMMMMMMMMMMM,…What more can I say?

    Reply
  1. Guest Post from The Cook’s Sister: Banana Bread | ginger bakes

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 550 other followers

