Improv Challenge: Zucchini and Brown Sugar

I’m excited to be participating in another Improv Challenge hosted by Kristen from Frugal Antics of a Harried Homemaker! Each month I strive to come up with something a bit more exciting or creative than the last. So far, I’ve shared:

This month, the challenge ingredients are zucchini and brown sugar.

My recipe this month isn’t exactly creative. Instead, I opted for something much more sentimental… my Nana’s Zucchini Bread recipe (with a slight modification). The original recipe calls for white sugar, I’ve substituted brown sugar for the purpose of the challenge, and it worked out great!

Nana’s not sure where the recipe comes from anymore. She thinks she might have got it from one of her sisters, who possibly got it from my Great Grandmother. Either way, it’s been in the family for a while and I enjoyed many many pieces of zucchini bread as a child, especially in the fall when Nana picked the zucchini fresh from the garden.

Growing up, I thought zucchini bread was one of the healthiest treats. Why? Because it’s got vegetable pieces in it. Therefore, it must be healthy. Right? I was a bit surprised going through the recipe when I saw how much sugar it calls for. Not exactly healthy. It won’t kill you to enjoy the bread once in a while either though. Just something I will likely choose to enjoy in moderation instead of abundance, like I did as a child.

I’ll likely experiment with making a healthier version of the recipe at some point. Substituting the white flour for whole wheat, or maybe a gluten-free flour. Try cutting out some of the sugar. But that’s for another day when I’m not scrambling to make something delicious for the Improv Challenge.

Excuse me while I got enjoy some fresh from the oven zucchini bread for breakfast. I just baked it this morning!

Nana’s Zucchini Bread

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs – approximate cost $0.60
  • 2 cups white sugar (I used brown sugar for the purpose of the Improv Challenge) – approximate cost $0.75
  • 2 1/2 cups grated zucchini, skin included – approximate cost $1.25
  • 1 cup oil (I used canola oil) – approximate cost $0.40
  • 3 teaspoons vanilla – approximate cost $0.30
  • 3 cups flour – approximate cost $1.50
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder – approximate cost $0.05
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda – approximate cost $0.10
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons nutmeg – approximate cost $0.25
  • 2 teaspoons salt – approximate cost $0.10
  • 3 teaspoons cinnamon – approximate cost $0.30
  • 1 cup walnuts – approximate cost $1.00

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Combine the eggs, sugar, oil, vanilla, and grated zucchini in a mixing bowl.
  3. Mix until well combined and set aside.
  4. Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, nutmeg, salt, cinnamon, and walnuts in a large mixing bowl.
  5. Mix until well combined.
  6. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix until well combined.
  7. Pour the bread mixture into two (greased) loaf pans.
  8. Bake for 1 hour (or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the bread comes out clean).
  9. Allow to cool before serving.

Makes 2 loaves, about 16 slices (approximate cost: $3.30 per loaf or $0.41 per slice).


Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. I love your cost break-down & the clear/concise instructions. A beginning cook should be able to construct a tasty loaf of zucchini bread with your recipe!

    Reply
    • Thanks Melody! It was really nice to find out that a favourite family recipe is also very affordable!

      I’m not very good at baking myself, and this bread was indeed very easy to make!

      Reply
  2. The recipe I posted today is similar to yours. I bet your house smelled great with cinnamon and nutmeg in the air. Yea for fall quick breads.

    Reply
    • Thanks Robyn! My apartment does indeed smell amazing this morning! :D I’ll stop by and check out your bread as well!

      Reply
  3. I almost did a zucchini bread for this challenge before I changed my mind! Loved that you used you’re Nana’s recipe. You know family recipes are the best!
    (p.s. I totally have the same silicone loaf pan as you! haha!)

    Reply
    • Thanks! Family recipes are the best! I packed a slice for a afternoon snack at school today. :)

      That’s great! I love my red silicone bake-ware. Dad gave it to me as a birthday gift a few years ago/

      Reply
  4. I adore zucchini bread and yours looks wonderful.

    Lisa~~
    my entry: Zucchini with Onions & Brown Sugar.

    Reply
  5. No way you can go wrong with an old family recipes. Great looking bread!!

    Reply
  6. Who wouldn’t love these stunning & appetizing zucchini breads? No one! ;)
    MMMMMMMMMMMMMM!

    Reply
    • Thanks Sophie! This is the first time I’ve made zucchini bread without the aid of my nana, so I’m really glad it turned out so well!

      Reply
  7. I have made them & they rocked my tastebuds: ooh yeah! :) xxx

    Reply
    • Wooo! Thanks for the feedback Sophie! Family recipes are always the best. :)

      I sent the leftovers (2 loaves was a lot of 2 people) to a gathering of Bryan and his friends. I was a bit worried they’d turn it down because there a vegetable pieces in the bread. To my surprise, no leftovers came home. They loved it too!

      Reply
  1. Five Favourite for Friday « The Cook's Sister
  2. Improv Challenge: Chocolate and Marshmallows « The Cook's Sister
  3. Guest Post from The Cook’s Sister: Banana Bread | ginger bakes
  4. Improv Challenge: Bananas and Nutmeg « The Cook's Sister
  5. Piparkakut (Finnish Gingerbread) Cookies | The Cook's Sister
  6. Improv Challenge: Shepherd’s Pie | The Cook's Sister
  7. Improv Challenge: Cinnamon and Sugar (Strawberry Cobbler) | The Cook's Sister
  8. Improv Challenge: Fish and Chips (Fried Fish-Shaped Chips) | The Cook's Sister
  9. Improv Challenge: Peaches and Herbs (Pork Chops with a Peach and Sage Glaze) | The Cook's Sister

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 548 other followers

