Breakfast Mess with Eggs, Sausage, Potatoes and Green Peppers

I’m back! I took a bit of a break from blogging the last few weeks. Life was overwhelmingly busy, so I took a bit of time off. To get some work done. To relax and enjoy what little personal time I had available. To cook, eat well, and take a few new photos to share. I missed blogging. I wondered what the other food bloggers I hear from regularly were up to. I’ll be catching up on that later this week.

What kept me so busy? School, projects, research, work, and a convocation ceremony! On Saturday, I officially received my MA degree. I’m still working on getting pictures. I was so happy to have many friends and family there to support me! I lent my camera to dad, so I have a few pics already.

Nana, Dad and Me at Convocation (Photo Credit to Bryan)

Nana, Dad and Me at Convocation (Photo Credit to Bryan)

I’m hoping that this week I can get back to my usual blogging routine! (Coming soon, a cookbook review!)

Breakfast Mess with Eggs, Sausage, Potatoes and Green Peppers

Ingredients

  • 10 medium red potatoes, diced – approximate cost $1.50
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced – approximate cost $0.50
  • 3 green peppers, diced – approximate cost $3.00
  • 4 Oktoberfest sausage, casing removed – approximate cost $4.50
  • 8 eggs – approximate cost $1.50
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt – approximate cost $0.05
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper – approximate cost $0.05
  • 1 teaspoon grapeseed oil – approximate cost $0.10
  • 1/4 cup water

Method

  1. Preheat a frying pan (and 1/2 teaspoon of oil) over medium heat.
  2. Add garlic and cook until fragrant (about 1 minute).
  3. Add the Oktoberfest sausage.
  4. Brown the sausage and break into pieces as it cooks.
  5. Whisk eggs and water in a bowl.
  6. Preheat a second frying pan (and 1/2 teaspoon of oil) over medium heat.
  7. Pour egg mixture into the frying pan.
  8. Scramble the eggs.
  9. Add green peppers to the cooked sausage.
  10. Remove scrambled eggs from heat and add to sausage.
  11. Season with sea salt and pepper.
  12. Mix well and serve!

Makes about 6 servings (approximate cost: $1.87 per serving).

Monday Link Parties

Photobucket

mop it up mondays


Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Congratulations! We missed you. We’ve been busy too but you’ll have to check our blogs to see what trouble we were getting into!
    I love a skillet breakfast (more appetite appeal than breakfast mess!).

    Reply
  2. Congratulations on your MA degree! There are obviously a lot of people proud of you, including yourself! Love the picture. Great breakfast – quick, hearty and delicious!

    Reply
  3. Congratulations!!!!! That’s so exciting!

    That breakfast looks amazing :-) YUM.

    Reply
  4. Yum yum! This looks so good! and congrats on your degree. :)
    Thanks for sharing on Marvelous Mondays!

    Reply
  5. Congratulations, I missed you & you look cool too! A grand breakfast & but way too rich for me as breakfast! :) A nice lunch though!! xxx

    Reply
  6. Congratulations and welcome back!
    This breakfast looks delicious and very hearty

    Reply
  1. Guest Post from The Cook’s Sister: Banana Bread | ginger bakes

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 548 other followers

