Caribbean Coconut Crusted Salmon with Caribbean Salsa

Normally, I don’t follow dinner recipes very closely. Usually, once I decide what it is I want to eat, I find out what I have in the fridge and pantry then make something work. Sometimes, I’ll make a quick trip to the grocery store if I’m missing something essential, but usually not.

When I picked up the salmon, I didn’t really have a plan in mind for it. I was feeling uninspired when I got home. I didn’t feel like making our usual lemon, butter and dill salmon. I didn’t have sliced almonds to make dad’s recipe. So, I started searching the Internet for a few ideas. That’s when I came across the Caribbean Coconut Crusted Salmon and the Caribbean Salsa recipes from FoodNetwork.ca. This was just what I was looking for! Something different than the usual, yet interesting, and better yet, quick to prepare. Even more unusual, I liked everything about the recipes and didn’t feel compelled to change it drastically.

This salmon and salsa was an exception to our normal dinners. I bought the salmon, found the recipe, made a shopping list, made another trip to the grocery store, and followed the recipe (for the most part, I left out the salt and pepper in the crusted salmon and left the skin on the salmon). I bought fresh cilantro (when I would normally use dried) and fresh pineapple (instead of canned) as the recipes suggest. The place where I “cheated” was with the limes. I bought lime juice instead of squeezing limes.

Was this meal worth the extra money for fresh ingredients? Definitely! Would I make it again? For sure! However, Bryan and I both agreed to use half of a red onion instead of the whole onion next time.

Our only complaint? You need lots and lots of salsa to go with the fish. The fish is nothing to write home about on its own. But when paired with the salsa it is amazing!

Caribbean Coconut Crusted Salmon with Caribbean Salsa

Both the Caribbean Coconut Crusted Salmon and the Caribbean Salsa recipes are from FoodNetwork.ca (with slight modifications)

Ingredients

Salmon

  • 1 cup shredded, unsweetened coconut – approximate cost $1.00
  • 5 salmon fillets, skin on – approximate cost $15.00

Salsa

  • 2 cups fresh pineapple, cubed – approximate cost $2.50 (purchased at a reduced price, the pineapple was very ripe)
  • 1 red onion, diced – approximate cost $1.10
  • 1 cup fresh cilantro, minced – approximate cost $2.00
  • 1/4 cup olive oil – approximate cost $0.50
  • 1/4 cup lime juice – approximate cost $0.75
  • 1 teaspoon hot sauce (I used sriracha) – approximate cost $0.05

Makes 5 servings (approximate cost: $4.58 per serving).

Note: Both the Caribbean Coconut Crusted Salmon and the Caribbean Salsa recipes are from FoodNetwork.ca (with slight modifications). I have listed the ingredients here to show the affordability of the meal. Please visit FoodNetwork.ca for the full recipes.

Monday Link Parties

Photobucket

mop it up mondays


Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. This sounds fantastic- definitely an interesting take on salmon! I have been looking for a new recipe for my normal salmon and can’t wait to try this out:)

    Reply
    • Thanks! It was different and well worth the “risk” of trying something new. I’m very glad I made the second trip to the grocery store to get the ingredients for the salsa.

      Reply
  2. MMMM,..A lovely meal but I would like to serve baked potatoes with this! Yum!

    Reply
  3. Coconut adds just the right amount of sweetness and crunchiness to this dish and I just love it paired with the salsa. What a nice meal for a cold and drizzly day.

    Reply
  4. The salsa looks so nice with the fish. The pineapple with the coconut on the fish would be great! My man did something very similar with tilapia and it turned out pretty good.

    Reply
    • I usually stick to a few family recipes for fish… I’m glad that I stepped outside my comfort zone to try this! Any chance you posted that tilapia recipe? :)

      Reply
      • Sorry, the Mr was cooking and just threw some things together. If he makes it again I’ll be sure to write it down

        Reply
  5. It is amazing how salsa will pick up a dish, especially fish. I bet the pineapple and the coconut did complement each other quite well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 549 other followers

