Another Leibster Nomination and Berkshire Pork Chops with Roasted Garlic Asparagus

A big thank you this week to Kumu, who blogs over at A Tea Spoon of Love who nominated me for the Leibster Blog Award! I was actually nominated for the award earlier this month as well. I’m so honoured to have fellow bloggers recommend my blog! That said, I love the questions and how they give you a better idea of who I am. However, I don’t think I follow enough blogs (let alone ones that meet the criteria of the award) to nominate another 11 blogs/bloggers. I’ll give it my best shot though!

liebster-award

Here are the rules of the Leibster award as I understand them. The blog/blogger nominated for the award…

  • Answers 11 questions posed by the nominator. (In my case, Jon has given me 7)
  • Nominates 11 other blogs (with 200 or fewer followers)
  • Creates their own new set of questions for the nominees.

Responses

  1. Favorite vacation spot of all time?
    1. This is difficult to answer! I’ll give you my top three: New York City; West Palm Beach, Florida; and Santa Fe, New Mexico. Yes, these are all in the U.S. As a full-time student, I don’t get much time to travel for a vacation. I love all of these locations for visiting family and friends. NYC is very interesting for walking and sight-seeing. I love snorkeling at the coral reef beaches in West Palm. And the gorgeous mountains and hiking in Santa Fe. At some point, I hope to travel much more! On my list of places I’d like to see is Venice, Tokyo, Seoul, Bangkok, Paris, and many more!
  2. Favorite book and why?
    1. I assume this isn’t supposed to be the question that is overly difficult. Yet I find myself humming and hawing, changing my mind, second guessing my answer. Do I pick something I enjoyed reading? Something that I’ve ready that has been very useful afterwards? I decided to go with books I’ve enjoyed reading for the sake of reading. My favourite, momentarily, is probably Neil Gaiman’s Stardust. I love both the book and the movie. This is one of the few adaptations I’ve seen that dares to change the ending of the story. I saw the movie first and read the book just last summer. I couldn’t out it down and, despite having seen the movie, loved every moment reading the book. Other notable candidates, in no particular order, include:
      Sabriel by Garth Nix
      – The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling
      The Sailor Who Fell From Grace with the Sea by Yukio Mishima
      - Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
      The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
      - The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton
      - The Legends of Vancouver by Pauline Johnson
  3. Food tradition you love?
    1. Family dinner! I love when my large extended family gets together for a day of cooking, eating, and spending time together. I’m very fortunate that this tradition happens a few times per year!
  4. If you could go to dinner with any 5 famous people (dead or alive) – who?
    1. 10-year-old me is screaming THE SPICE GIRLS!!! I think I’ll go with that. :)
  5. Favorite cuisine?
    1. Not sure I could choose! Probably Guyanese food. Not only is it delicious, it has nostalgia. Growing up, my next-door neighbours (who were really more like my second family) would cook Guyanese food frequently and share it with my family. I remember loving most of it, except the really spicy wiri pepper hot sauce (that was so hot is once made me cry). When I visit them in New York, I eat them clean out of food, the spice doesn’t both me as much as an adult. I’ve even tried to replicate a few of the recipes at home.
  6. House is on fire – family made it out – what is the one thing you grab? (you can only grab one)
    1. I’m counting the cat as family that has got out safely. My camera bag. It has my camera, lens, and ALL of my photos in it. I tend to buy huge memory cards and keep them as back-ups.
  7. Favorite type of chocolate?
    1. Dark chocolate, hands down. My favourite is 80% cocoa with almonds.
  8. Favorite beverage?
    1. Moroccan Mint Tea with honey
  9. Movie you most relate to.
    1. I’m not sure I really relate to any movies. I can’t think of anything… but my all time favourite is Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl.
  10. If you can trade places with a famous person for 24 hours, whom would you pick?
    1. I’m drawing a blank on this one. I’m quite happy not to be the center of attention, even if it just for a 24 hour period.
  11. A TV show you love to watch.
    1. We don’t have cable or Netflix. We mostly watch shows on DVD (ones that come highly recommended by friends) or are available on YouTube. We most recently watched and enjoyed Game of Thrones. I’ve also been sporadically watching episodes of The Dog Whisperer. I also like Firefly, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Friends, The Big Bang Theory, How I Met Your Mother and probably many more that I cannot think of at the moment.

Nominees

In no particular order…

  1. Sophie’s Foodie Files
  2. MJ’s Kitchen
  3. Dominican Heat
  4. from the Bartolini kitchens
  5. Whip a Dish
  6. Love Bakes Good Cakes
  7. Doggie at the Dinner Table
  8. Lisa is Cooking

Questions for nominees:

  1. What 3 words would you choose to describe yourself?
  2. Do you have a blogging mentor who has made a huge difference along the way?
  3. Have you met any of your blogging friends in real life?
  4. What inspires you to continue writing your blog?
  5. What is your favourite family recipe?
  6. Which of your own blog posts are you most proud of?
  7. What is your favourite type of food?
  8. What is your favourite pastime?
  9. Where would you most like to go for your dream vacation and why?
  10. What is your favourite genre of music?
  11. If someone made a film about your life, who would you want to play you?

As if this post wasn’t long enough… I’d also like to share some recipes today!

Bryan asked me if there is a testimonials section for the blog… I asked him to leave a comment. Instead, he asked me to inform you in this post that: “This food-girl makes the best noms.” Thanks Bryan!

Berkshire Pork Chops with Smoked Paprika and Espelette Pepper

Ingredients

  • 2 bone-in Berkshire Pork Chops (about 3/4 pound each)  – approximate cost $10.50
  • 1 tablespoon grapeseed oil  – approximate cost $0.10
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt  – approximate cost $0.05
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper  – approximate cost $0.05
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika  – approximate cost $0.10
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried sage  – approximate cost $0.05
  • 1/2 teaspoon espellette pepper  – approximate cost $0.10

Method

  1. Heat grapeseed oil in a frying pan over medium heat.
  2. Add pork chops (you should hear them sizzle when added to the frying pan).
  3. Cook for 4 1/2 minutes.
  4. Turn.
  5. Sprinkle with sea salt, black pepper, smoked paprika, died sage, and espellette pepper.
  6. Cook for an additional 4 1/2 minutes.
  7. Test for desired doneness and cook more if necessary.
  8. Remove from frying pan and let stand for 3-4 minutes.
  9. Pour half of the glaze over each of the pork chops.
  10. Serve and enjoy!

Roasted Garlic Asparagus

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 pounds asparagus – approximate cost $4.50
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt  – approximate cost $0.05
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil  – approximate cost $0.15
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced  – approximate cost $0.30

Method

  1. Turn the oven to broil.
  2. Place the asparagus in a large roasting pan.
  3. Sprinkle with salt.
  4. Drizzle with olive oil and garlic.
  5. Broil until the asparagus turns bright green.
  6. Flip the asparagus.
  7. Broil until the other side is bright green and the tips begin to brown.
  8. Remove from oven.
  9. Serve with pork chops and enjoy!

Note: These dishes take about the same amount of time to cook. I started the asparagus first then cooked the pork chops.

Makes 2 servings (approximate cost: $7.98 per serving).

Wednesday Link Parties

Cast Party Wednesday

White Lights on Wednesdays

Fluster Buster

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Congratulations, Amber, on receiving this well-deserved award. The Spice Girls? LOL.
    Thanks, too, for nominating me. It’s an honor and I’m grateful for your kindness.
    Now, about that pork chop. It looks fantastic. It’s such a simple thing but I really do enjoy them. Yours here, with that roasted asparagus, would make the perfect meal for me — well, if it began with a little dish of pasta. :)

    Reply
  2. Well done on your award!

    Reply
  3. mjskit

     /  August 1, 2013

    Congratulations Amber on your well-deserved award and thanks so much for awarding it back to me. :) You’re a sweetheart! I was thrilled to see you mention Santa Fe as one of your favorite travel places. If you ever come back, let me know. I only live 60 miles south of there in Albuquerque and it would be fun to hook up. :) Smoked paprika on pork. That sounds really good!

    Reply
  4. Congrats amber on the award & on this fab & tasty recipe! It looks just smashingly delicious too! :) I loved reading your answers & thanks for nominating me! I will anwser your lovely questions! :) ooh yes! :)

    Reply
  5. Hello Amber! I just wrote about my received award from you & answered your questions too! :) xxx http://sophiesfoodiefiles.wordpress.com/2013/08/04/awards-spinach-courgettes-smoked-tofu/

    Reply
  6. lovebakesgoodcakes

     /  August 5, 2013

    Congratulations, Amber – and thank you so much for passing it on to me :) For some reason, Google sent you to my spam folder so I am just now seeing this! Thank you so much for your lovely comments – I truly appreciate it! I will get a post together as soon as I can, answering these questions! Btw, I am totally with you on the chocolate – yum :)

    Reply
  7. Congrats Amber it’s so nice to find out a little more about you. I’m with John on these chops, they look fantastic! Love the asparagus too, garlic and all.

    Reply
  8. This asparagus is calling my name!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 549 other followers

