Chip Dip

A few weeks back I hosted a games night for my classmates from Digital Game Theory. While I probably should have worried more about having a variety of games available for play, I was mostly concerned about what type of food I could serve to my guests. After much deliberation, I decided to go with a snack I hadn’t enjoyed since sometime before I started attending university: chip dip.

This isn’t just any chip dip recipe, this is one that comes with fond childhood memories of helping dad carefully layer the ingredients on a serving platter. We often made this dip on Sunday evenings during the winter and enjoyed the snack while watching the Sunday night movie on the Disney Channel.

This dish is easy to make and always a crowd pleaser. I am happy to report that each of my guests enjoyed the chip dip (hopefully as much as, if not more than, they enjoyed the games).

Chip Dip

Ingredients

  • 1 500mL container of sour cream – approximate cost $2.50
  • 1 430mL jar of salsa (I use a red salsa, medium spiciness) – approximate cost $2.50
  • 1/2 can of sliced black olives – approximate cost $1.50
  • 2-3 green onions, chopped – approximate cost $1.00
  • 200g shredded old cheddar cheese – approximate cost $3.00

Chip dip - just add the cheddar cheese

Method

  1. Layer the ingredient in the following order:
    1. Sour cream
    2. Salsa
    3. Green onions
    4. Black olives
    5. Cheese
  2. Serve with corn chips.

Makes approximately 6 snack-sized servings (approximate cost: $1.75 per serving).

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. One Year Blogiversary! « The Cook's Sister

Leave a Reply

