New Mexican Style Chicken Tacos

I’ve had a few vacations to the Southwest, in particular to New Mexico. Though I haven’t seen all of it, from what I have explored I can say that I think it is a gorgeous state. I love going for walks through Santa Fe, sight-seeing from the top of a Mesa, hiking to the natural hot springs.

While I can’t bring any of that home with me, I have tried to replicate some of the food! My visits to New Mexico were the first time I tasted both Mexican and Mexican-American food (aside from the beef tacos we make at home with the taco spice seasoning). I was introduced to a variety of new foods, both homemade and from restaurants. I miss the wonderful breakfast burritos, enchiladas, chile rellenos, arroz con pollo, and chicken tacos, among other things.

Since then, I’ve experimented quite a few times to recreate some of my favourite dishes. Most of the time, it’s not quite the same. However, I think I might finally be close with my chicken taco experiments. This recipe should satisfy my craving for a delicious chicken taco from El Parasol  until my next vacation.

New Mexican Style Chicken Tacos

Ingredients

  • 6 large tortillas – approximate cost $2.00
  • 2 tomatoes (I used Roma tomatoes), diced – approximate cost $1.25
  • 2 ripe avocados, pitted and diced – approximate cost $2.50
  • 1 small can of green chiles – approximate cost $2.00
  • 200 grams shredded cheddar cheese (optional) – approximate cost $3.00
  • Sour cream (optional) – approximate cost $2.00
  • Salsa (optional – I usually skip this topping) – approximate cost $2.00
  • 3 pieces of boneless, skinless chicken breasts – approximate cost $8.00
  • 2 cups of chicken broth – approximate cost $1.75
  • 1 tbsp dried cilantro (of 2-3 springs of fresh cilantro) – approximate cost $0.25

Method

  1. Bring the chicken stock to a boil.
  2. Add the chicken breasts.
  3. Cook uncovered until there is only a centimeter or two (1/2-3/4 inch) of broth left in the pot (the chicken should be cooked through at this point).
  4. Prepare the various fillings (chopping tomatoes and avocados, shredding cheese) while the chicken cooks.
  5. Shred the chicken (or chop into very small pieces). Note: You might want to remove the remaining broth from the heat during this process. It can take a while.
  6. Return the chicken to the broth and bring to a simmer.
  7. When it looks like the broth is mostly gone, add the cilantro.
  8. Remove the pot from the burner and cover it with a lid to keep the chicken warm.
Makes 6 servings (approximate cost: $4.13 per serving).

Serving suggestions

There are at least two ways that you can serve this dish. One is to let everyone build their own taco at the dinner table, which is a good option if you are serving guests with allergies or a variety of food preferences. I like to build it myself to make sure there is a good balance between all of the fillings in each taco. When I prepare the tacos myself, I like to grill it for a few moments before serving, which is an optional step, it tastes great either way!

Make sure you don’t over-stuff your tortilla, this increases the chances of it falling apart during your meal. With everything on hand, remember that it’s easy enough to prepare seconds or even thirds!

These tacos can be a bit messy, so keep lots of napkins on hand during your meal! Enjoy!
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I love tacos….they are versatile and delicious!

    Reply
    • Thanks Erica! We also love tacos! The chicken ones are a favourite in our home… makes it a bit difficult to branch out and try other taco recipes!

      Reply
  1. One Year Blogiversary! « The Cook's Sister
  2. From my cookbook collection: Chicken Jalfrezi « The Cook's Sister

Leave a Reply

