Relieving the burn caused by hot peppers

The burn of a hot pepper is not a sensation that is easily forgotten. I’ll never forget that time I handled jalapeno peppers, washed my hands, and rubbed my eye before realizing I hadn’t washed my hands thoroughly enough.

My roommate at the time soaked a paper towel with milk and instructed me to hold that on the burn. It helped a lot! It cooled the burn and temporarily stopped the pain. However, each time I took the towel away the burning resumed.

The Kitchn suggests applying olive oil to the burn. I’ll try this next time… but hopefully there won’t be a next time. I try to be a lot more careful now.

What do you use to relieve the burning sensation caused by hot peppers?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

