BBQ Beef Tongue

During our undergrad, my friend J and I would talk about getting together to cook beef tongue. As one would guess, we were both very busy students and somehow we never got around to it.

Now living in different cities, I decided it was time to give it a try. Then, next time I invite J over for dinner, I can confidently serve it to her.  My first attempt at cooking beef tongue is with bbq sauce.

I’ll admit I was a bit nervous about this one. It looks just like a tongue in the package. I got B to help me a bit.

B describes this dish as “tastes just like Texas barbeque.” I think that’s a good thing.  🙂

J maintains three blogs that you should check out: This Dusty HouseSomething More, and The Literary Bride)

BBQ Beef Tongue

Ingredients

  • 1 beef tongue – approximate cost $8.00
  • 1 large onion, chopped – approximate cost $0.40
  • 1 teaspoon salt – approximate cost $0.10
  • 1/3 cup hickory smoke barbeque sauce – approximate cost $0.75

Method

  1. Put the beef tongue, onion, and salt into a slow cooker and cover with water.
  2. Cook on low temperature for 6-7 hours.
  3. Remove beef tongue from the slow cooker and carefully peel the thick layer of skin away from the meat (discard the onion and liquid).
  4. Dice the meat into bite-sized pieces.
  5. Add meat and barbeque sauce to a wok (or a deep frying pan) and cook on medium heat for about 7 minutes, stirring frequently.
  6. Serve immediately. A side of potatoes and brussel sprout goes well with this dish.

Makes 5 servings (approximate cost: $1.85 per serving).

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. From my cookbook collection: Chicken Jalfrezi « The Cook's Sister

Leave a Reply

