Happy Thanksgiving! Rosemary Roasted Turkey, Candied Sweet Potatoes, Garlic Peas, and Spinach Salad with Dried Cranberries, Almonds, and Raspberry Vinaigrette

Happy (Canadian) Thanksgiving!

Thanksgiving is that wonderful time of year when I get to visit with my extended family and enjoy their wonderful cooking. And this year is no exception. Because I don’t cook any of the meals for this occasion, I’m sharing the Thanksgiving meal that I prepared for the American Thanksgiving celebration last year.

I prepared my very first Thanksgiving meal last November. The dinner turned out pretty well, actually! Sorry, no horror stories of a burnt turkey here. I was worried about the amount of work and timing, but everything seemed to fall together nicely. All of the recipes are from one of my favourite recipe websites, allrecipes.com (Except for the salad, which is my former roommate’s recipe). Our menu consisted of: Candied Sweet Potatoes,  Garlic Peas, Spinach salad with dried cranberries, almonds, and raspberry vinaigrette, and Rosemary Roasted Turkey.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

These candied sweet potatoes were another wonderful dish, though not very healthy. The sweetness was a nice offset to the savory turkey. This dish was received so well that I decided to make a second serving the next day so we could enjoy it with our leftover turkey.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

Candied Sweet Potatoes

Ingredients

  • 6 sweet potatoes  – approximate cost $3.00
  • 1/2 cup butter  – approximate cost $2.50
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar – approximate cost $0.50
  • 1 teaspoon salt  – approximate cost $0.05
  • 1/2 cup water

Makes 6 servings – approximate cost $1.00 per serving (See allrecipes.com for the complete recipe).

Garlic Peas

Mmmmmmm garlicky. Our guests are not fond of onions so I omitted them from the recipe. The peas were delicious without; though I’m sure adding onions would also be tasty. This dish had a very strong garlic flavour, which we all loved. If you like garlic, but want a milder version I’d suggest starting with one clove and adding more as needed.

Green peas

Green peas

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil  – approximate cost $0.10
  • 1 onion, chopped  – approximate cost $0.75
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced  – approximate cost $0.40
  • 16 ounces frozen green peas  – approximate cost $3.00
  • 1 tablespoon condensed chicken stock  – approximate cost $0.20
  • salt and pepper to taste  – approximate cost $0.10

Makes 6 servings – approximate cost $0.76 per serving (See allrecipes.com for the complete recipe).

Spinach salad with dried cranberries, almonds, and raspberry vinaigrette

This salad is something I learned to make from a former roommate. I realized the day after that I forgot one ingredient, goat’s cheese. However, even without the cheese the salad was tasty. I’m not sure where the recipe came from, but it is delicious! This is a wonderful salad for those who “don’t like vegetables.”

Spinach salad

Spinach salad

Ingredients

  • 4 large handfuls of baby spinach  – approximate cost $2.00
  • 4 scoops of dried cranberries  – approximate cost $1.00
  • 4 scoops of sliced almonds (unsalted)  – approximate cost $1.00
  • 1 teaspoon of crumbled goat cheese  – approximate cost $2.00
  • 4 teaspoons of raspberry vinagrette  – approximate cost $0.25

Method

  1. Divide all ingredients (evenly) between four salad bowls.
  2. Toss to coat ingredients with dressing.

Makes 4 servings – approximate cost $1.56 per serving.

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A few years ago, I had tried to make this same recipe. My first attempt was a disaster! I didn’t know to cover the turkey while it baked and it was quite crispy and dry when it came out of the over. Despite my failed first attempt, I remembered that what was salvaged from the meal was tasty, so I decided to try it again (I even splurged for fresh herbs). This recipe was quite a bit of work, but turned out fantastic! I will definitely be using this recipe again.

Fresh Rosemary and basil

Fresh Rosemary and basil

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup olive oil – approximate cost $2.00
  • 3 tablespoons minced garlic – approximate cost $0.75
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh rosemary – approximate cost $1.50
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh basil – approximate cost $1.00
  • 1 tablespoon Italian seasoning – approximate cost $0.25
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper – approximate cost $0.05
  • salt to taste – approximate cost $0.05
  • 1 (12 pound) whole turkey – approximate cost $12.00

Makes 10 servings – approximate cost $1.76 per serving (See allrecipes.com for the complete recipe).

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I will be visiting with family also, so there is no baking cooking on my agenda this year either. However, I am sure that my turn will come around again.
    You did make a lovely meal last year-there is not one think on this list that I would not have wanted to eat. Thanks for sharing this and proving that a holiday meal does not have to be real expensive.

    Reply
  2. Hope your Thanksgiving was wonderful! Your salad is calling my name…how delicious!

    Reply
  3. Thanks! Thanksgiving was fantastic! I’m working on some creative ideas for leftover turkey this week. 🙂

    Reply
  4. I like the helpful information you provide for your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and take a look at again here frequently. I’m slightly certain I’ll be told many new stuff proper here! Best of luck for the following!

    Reply
  5. Keep up the excellent work , I read few blog posts on this site and I believe that your blog is very interesting and contains sets of wonderful information.

    Reply
  1. Belated Thanksgiving « The Cook's Sister

Leave a Reply

