Spinach, Beet, and Goat Cheese Salad with Vinaigrette

I purchased beets at the market again this week. I’m determined to find some interesting ways to prepare this vegetable. Recently, I posted about honey, balsamic, ginger beets and, inspired by the Raw Cooking Workshop that I attended, I decided that this time I would not cook the beets (which is very time consuming). I break a lot of the “rules” of raw foods, for example the tasty goat cheese that I added to the salad is not part of the raw food repertoire. I’m also not very creative with it yet. I’m sure that will come with practice though. For now, salad is a start.

Spinach, Beet, and Goat Cheese Salad with Vinaigrette

Salad

Ingredients

  • 2 handfuls of spinach, enough to fill each salad bowl about ¾ full – approximate cost $1.00
  • 1 beet, sliced into thin, spaghetti-like pieces – approximate cost $0.50
  • 50 grams of goat cheese, crumbled – approximate cost $1.75
  • Balsamic vinegar – approximate cost $0.10

Method

  1. Tear spinach into bite-sized pieces and place in a salad bowl
  2. Top with beet slices and goat cheese
  3. Drizzle with a balsamic vinegar

Note: I did not attempt to toss this salad. I prepared individual servings.

Makes 2 servings (approximate cost: $1.68 per serving).

This salad looked so good even the cat wanted to try! 🙂
(Unfortunately for her, I did not share)

cat wants salad

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Oh geez, we gave that cat an appetite for just about everything, didn’t we? 😉

    Rather enjoying this, gonna have to follow it some! I’ll see about winging you some of my ideas sometime too, though they may be a bit more mundane. 🙂

    Evan

    Reply
    • Yes, the cat really does love food. Apples are still her favourite. 🙂

      Maybe you and M can write a guest post the next time you cook together?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

