Waterloo Region Food and Drink Expo

My best friend T surprised me with a ticket to the Waterloo Region Food and Drink Expo, which took place on Friday evening. It was a fantastic evening filled with good food and good company. Between T and I, we tried most of the available samples. We had a few favourites, but everything was fantastic. I wish I could have taken pictures of everything, but I ran out of room on my memory card.

Some of the highlights:

Butter chicken – From a local hotel so we didn’t expect much and we were blown away. T commented “This is what butter chicken should taste like!” and I agree. The cilantro added a really awesome flavour to the sweet and slightly spicy dish.

Stew (or maybe it was a gumbo?) with shrimp, homemade sausage, okra, and more served over rice – Prepared by my favourite local chef, Peter Martin, from The 41 Gastropub. Very little talking while we enjoyed this, it was that good!

The 41

Cranberry (tart) and Cranberry-Blueberry (sweet) wines – From a winery in Muskoka where the wine is made of berries, not grapes. I liked the sweet wine and T preferred the tart wine. We both agreed that they were delicious.

Pig tail fritters – I asked about the filling, but the servers couldn’t tell me if what sort of pig tail slices were inside the fritter.

Poutine – With a beef jus and cheese curds. I didn’t miss the usual thick gravy.

Poutine prep

Apple fritter – I initially passed by this one. I usually am not fond of desserts. But when T bit in and revealed a fresh apple ring, I went back for my own. Lightly battered and sprinkled with just a bit of sugar. A nice light dessert.

Guacamole and Pico de Gallo – T had the guacamole and I the pico de gallo. I got an extra spicy batch I think. Very tasty until the burning sensation kicked in and I ran for the ice cream.

Vanilla ice cream with olive oil and grape reduction – Immensely soothing after biting in to a large piece of jalapeno pepper. Surprising to us, olive oil is a fantastic topping for ice cream.

Shrimp with a seafood sauce – Yummy

Satay with peanut sauce and Pad Thai – I had the satay, T the pad thai. Both delicious.

Pad thao

Satay

Ice wine – Yum. Loved that the server wanted us to have the best possible experience and rinsed our glasses before providing a sample.

Smoked salmon, cream cheese, capers, and red onion slices on a cracker – Reminded me of the fantastic and very similar appetizer served at a friend’s wedding a few years ago. Just as tasty as the appetizer I remember.

Sushi (vegetarian, California roll, and smoked salmon with cream cheese and asparagus) – T really enjoyed this even though seafood is not her first choice of food

I will definitely be putting this event in my calendar for next year. I will also plan ahead so I can attend some of the information sessions. However, even though we did not attend any of the sessions it was a fantastic experience. The food and drinks were all delicious. The vendors were mostly knowledgeable about their products. And we lost track of time because we were having so much fun!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

