Raw Seaweed Wraps with Vegetables and Herbs

As it turns out, B doesn’t seem to be very fond of the raw foods I’ve been preparing. I, on the other hand, have found it challenging and fun (and of course yummy). I enjoy raw fruits and vegetables. I eat them on their own without preparing them often. For me, raw cooking is a new-to-me way to prepare the foods I already enjoy.

I’m not giving up! But I’ve decided that, at least for now, I will challenge myself to prepare raw foods for lunch when possible and stick to more conventional dishes at dinner time. When thinking back on the Raw Food Workshop, I tried to remember all of the things Renee had mentioned we could make for a quick lunch. I was determined not to follow a specific recipe, to just think of ingredients that would go well in a wrap and assemble it. I hope this method of preparing raw food will help me to think of raw cooking as a daily way of preparing foods instead of an occasional, time intensive option.

raw wraps

I made two wraps with the same filling, but different herbs to mix up the flavour. While I enjoyed both wraps (personally, I liked the one with cilantro best), two wraps was not enough! I had packed the two wraps and a few snacks for my lunch and ended up making a quick trip to the grocery store to make it until dinner time. Pack at least four wraps as a lunch.

Raw Seaweed Wraps with Vegetables and Herbs

Ingredients

  • 2 sheets of dried seaweed – approximate cost $0.50
  • 6 cherry or grape tomatoes, sliced in half – approximate cost $0.50
  • 1 small cucumber, sliced length-wise and then into 4 pieces (total of 8 pieces) – approximate cost $0.50
  • 1 package of sprouts – approximate cost $1.00
  • A few fresh herbs (I used cilantro for one wrap and oregano for the other) – approximate cost $0.50

raw wrap

Method

  1. Lay wrap on a flat surface and sprinkle with a few drops of cold water.
  2. Stack half of the filling horizontally (approximately a 1-2 inch line) across each wrap.
  3. Roll the seaweed wrap horizontally, trying to keep the filling inside the wrap.
  4. Dab a few drops of cold water along the outside edge of the seaweed wrap to help create a seal.
  5. Enjoy immediately or package and enjoy later as a healthy meal.

Makes 2 wraps (approximate cost: $1.50 per wrap).

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

