The Sauce: Cranberry Raspberry Sauce

Last year, we got through the entire meal before I realized that I’d forgotten to serve the cranberry sauce. Instead, we enjoyed it with our leftovers.

This year, I decided to make my own cranberry sauce. Sure, it’s easy to just open a can of cranberry sauce, but I wanted to make sure I didn’t forget it this year. However, I did buy a can of cranberry sauce as a back up. I wasn’t sure if the added raspberries would be well-received.

Because I’ve almost always enjoyed my cranberry sauce from a can, I had the misconception that this would be a lot of extra work (but I had to know if it was worth the extra work). I’m happy to say that we will be enjoying homemade cranberry sauce from now on. It’s simple to make and, in my opinion, much tastier when made with fresh fruits.

Cranberry Raspberry Sauce

Adapted from AllRecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 2 ½ cups cranberries – approximate cost $2.00
  • 1 cup raspberries – approximate cost $2.00
  • 1 ¼ cups red wine (I used a Cabernet-Sauvingion) – approximate cost $2.00
  • ½ cup sugar – approximate cost $0.50

Method

  1. Combine the cranberries and raspberries in a blender and blend until the mixture is slightly chunky.
  2. On low heat, begin to melt the sugar in a pot and stir frequently.
  3. Add the red wine and berry mixture to the pot and bring to a simmer.
  4. Let simmer for 10-15 minutes, or until the sauce is thick.

Serve hot or chilled. Makes about 10 servings (approximate cost: $0.65 per serving).

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Happy Thanksgiving! « The Cook's Sister
  2. Very Belated (American) Thanksgiving « The Cook's Sister

Leave a Reply

