Chicken Pot Pie

As much as I love cooking, going home for dinner is always a treat. It’s nice to let someone else cook and visit with my family. When I stopped by for dinner a few weeks ago, my stepmother was preparing chicken pot pie. It smelled divine. And, it was very very very tasty. So much, that I asked if I could take a serving of leftovers home with me (Sorry B, I wasn’t intending to share the leftovers either!). I was so disappointed when I got home and realized I forgot to grab my leftovers.

I was probably too busy saying goodbye to these two cuties:

Rebel (4 year old Austrian shepherd)

Rascal (1 year old yellow lab and white German shepherd cross)

So, I texted my stepmother to ask how she made the chicken pot pie, so I could make one myself. And you know, it didn’t sound as difficult as it looked. Of course, I took a few shortcuts to make it easier to prepare as a weeknight dinner.

I bought prepared pie crust.

I baked and shredded the chicken the night before.

I bought a gravy mix.

I’m not sure my version of the chicken pot pie was as tasty, but it was nice to be able to share it with B and have leftovers for the next few days.

Chicken pot pie

Ingredients

Crust

  • 2 prepared pie crusts – approximate cost $4.00

Filling

  • 1 1/2 cups of cooked chicken, chopped into small pieces – approximate cost $4.00
  • 1 cup of green peas – approximate cost $1.00
  • 1 cup of carrots, chopped into small pieces – approximate cost $1.00
  • 1 onion, chopped into small pieces – approximate cost $0.50
  • 1 cup chicken gravy – approximate cost $1.15
  • 1 teaspoon of dried rosemary – approximate cost $0.10
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper – approximate cost $0.05
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil – approximate cost $0.25

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Brush 1 teaspoon of olive oil in a 9-inch pie pan.
  3. Arrange the first pie crust in the pie pan.
  4. Cook the onion pieces until softened.
  5. In a large bowl, combine the cooked chicken pieces, peas, carrots, onions, rosemary, and black pepper.
  6. Pour the chicken and vegetable mixture into the prepared pie pan.
  7. Pour the gravy over the chicken and vegetable mixture.
  8. Cover the pie with the remaining pie crust.
  9. Pinch the edge where the crusts meet.
  10. Trim the excess crust from around the edges of the pie pan.
  11. Brush the top crust with the remaining olive oil.
  12. Bake for approximately 45 minutes, or until cooked through and the crust begins to turn golden-brown.
  13. Let stand for about 10 minutes before serving.

Makes about 6 servings (approximate cost: $2.01 per serving).

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. This looks so tasty! What a great comfort food in the dead of winter. I like your blog a lot. I am an accountant so to me its fun seeing the breakdown of how much each meal costs. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Shortcuts make our lives realistic.While I think it’s worth it to at least know how to make things like pie crust and gravy, there’s nothing wrong with the store bought substitutions!

    Looks tasty and perfectly simple!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

