Spinach salad with beets, yellow peppers, and goat cheese

Bryan’s not fond of beets. I happen to enjoy them. So I was looking for ways that I could enjoy beets but easily leave them out of Bryan’s portion of the meal.

Growing up, we always ate beets boiled and topped with salt and pepper. We didn’t have them often, so I never got tired of eating beets the same way time and time again.

So, when trying to decide a new way to incorporate beets into a meal, I talked to Janne, from Livessence. She had mentioned a while back that she makes a salad with beets (apparently I only remember conversations about food), which sounded like a good idea. However, I didn’t really know where to start. Do you use fresh, cooked, or canned beets? Should I put any spices on them? What kind of salad do they go well in?

With some advice from Janne, I decided to make fancy salads with dinner, one with and the other without beets. The resulting salad was a great way to accommodate both mine and B’s taste preferences!

Spinach salad with beets, yellow peppers, and goat cheese

Ingredients

  • 4 bunches of baby spinach – approximate cost $1.50
  • 1 can of beets – approximate cost $1.50
  • 1 yellow pepper – approximate cost $1.50
  • 100 grams of goat cheese with herbs – approximate cost $2.00
  • Balsamic vinegar – approximate cost $0.25

Method

  1. Julienne the beets and yellow pepper.
  2. Crumble the goat cheese pieces.
  3. Divide the baby spinach, beets, yellow peppers, and goat cheese into four bowls.
  4. Drizzle each with balsamic vinegar.
  5. Serve and enjoy!

Makes about 4 servings (approximate cost: $1.69 per serving).

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I was JUST talking about beets with my boyfriend this am! 😀

    Reply
  2. Ooooh. I LOVE beets. But I love goat cheese more! Great recipe.

    Reply
  3. I just loaded up on beets at the farmer’s market this weekend. It’s about all we have in our fridge so I can’t wait to try this!

    Reply
  4. Very nice and healthy too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

