Five Favourites for Friday

Bryan and I will be staying home and cooking for ourselves this Valentine’s Day. We have a romantic evening planned of a dinner for two followed by playing video games (possibly Halo, Super Smash Bros. Brawl, and maybe Super Mario Bros. Wii). Bryan told me that I’m the best girlfriend ever for suggesting this plan!

When it comes to dinner, I plans to break a few of our usual “rules.” Because this is a special occasion, our seventh Valentine’s Day as a couple, I will do my best to disregard my penchant for cooking under our usual budget. Instead, I will attempt to cook a fairly nice dinner for two at the same cost as a dinner for one if we ate out. So, I’m aiming to cook a three-course meal for about $25-$30. Sounds reasonable… I think…

I’m already excited about all the possibilities for the menu. Today’s selection of links features a few of the things that I would potentially like to prepare for the occasion. However, I’m open to hearing your suggestions as well!

How will you be celebrating Valentine’s Day? And what will you be cooking?

Roasted Tomato Soup with Parmesan Heart Crisps from Bev Cooks


Steak With Drunken Mushrooms, Caramelized Onions & Roasted Blue Cheese Potatoes from The Kitchn

Red Velvet Cupcakes with Roses from Glorious Treats

Miso Ginger Asparagus from Steamy Kitchen

Roasted Shrimp with Rosemary, Garlic & Lemon from Cookin’ Canuck

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. What grocery store do you go to? Mark found a package of 6 steaks for $20 (or something like that…) at Food Basics once. Assuming you’re only having 1 steak each, that’s 6.60 for your steaks, plus you have some to put in the freezer for later! Look in the frozen food section: not quite as amazing as fresh, but still pretty tasty!

    Nothing else on your plan looks like it will be particularly expensive… I’m sure you’ll be able to do a 3 course meal for under $30!

    Reply
    • Usually I shop at Zehrs or Sobeys, depending on where I am when I decide I have time to go grocery shopping. This week, I went to Central Fresh Market (they have an in-house butcher and great prices on meats).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

