Strawberry and Cashew Smoothie

Lately, smoothies have been my breakfast of choice. They take very little time to make. They’re super healthy. The mess is quick to clean up. And, if I’m running late, it’s easy to take to class.

I’ve been experimenting with a variety of ingredients: frozen fruits (strawberries, mangoes, raspberries, peaches, bananas, etc.), nuts (cashews, pecans, almonds), and liquids (coconut water, almond milk, chlorophyll).

I’ve also been trying out smoothies with greens. This morning I had a smoothie with spinach. It took a while to get used to the idea of blending vegetables with the fruit. Bryan told me I was weird for blending spinach and strawberries. That’s ok, more delicious smoothie for me!

This particular smoothie turned out really well. It may not look particularly pretty, but I assure you it was tasty.

Strawberry and Cashew Smoothie

Ingredients

  • 1 ½ cups frozen strawberry slices – approximate cost $1.50
  • ¼ cup raw cashews – approximate cost $0.50
  • 1 teaspoon of chlorophyll – approximate cost $0.10
  • 1 ½ cups almond milk – approximate cost $1.00

Method

  1. Blend strawberry slices, cashews, chlorophyll and almond milk until smooth.
  2. Serve immediately and enjoy!

Makes 2 servings (approximate cost: $1.55 per serving).

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I’m guessing from the presidents choice brand that you are Canadian?! Me too! 🙂 Sounds like a great smoothie! 🙂

    Reply
    • Yes, I am. Nice to run into another Canadian blogger! I’m finding that food blogging is a HUGE international community. There are many blogs I read and think “Oh, I wish that product were local so it would be more affordable!” (like the crawfish/Mardi Gras recipes I’ve been reading about over the last week). Nice to meet you Sarah, and glad you enjoyed the recipe!

      Reply
  2. I really need more smoothies in my life! This looks super yummy and healthy. Well done.

    Reply
  3. I have GOT to start making smoothies! What a great way to ensure you get some good nutrition in the morning…and when I do, I’ve got to include spinach. Like you, I may not like the look of it, but I think the idea is brilliant! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • I find smoothies are much easier to prepare in the morning when compared to a traditional bacon & eggs (or even pancake) breakfast. However, it is a much noisier process. If your family sleeps in later, you can plan ahead and blend your smoothie the night before and refrigerate it until the next day.

      Reply
  4. This is so simple and quick 🙂 Just when I was running out of breakfast ideas. Curious how the Green smoothies turned out ?

    Reply
    • I’ve only attempted the green smoothie once at home (and once at a local restaurant). They are actually quite tasty! Start with a mild green, such as spinach, if you’re wary of green smoothies like me. And if you can, use fresh spinach instead of frozen. It blends easier/better.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

