Beef Heart with Shaoxing Wine Sauce

I’m constantly looking for ways to save money on our meals. One of the easiest ways I’ve found to cut costs from our weekly grocery bill is the eat offal. I am lucky that my family raised me to eat these cuts of meat without fuss. I’m thankful that Bryan is an adventuresome eater and tries nearly everything I put in front of him without complaint.

My favourite grocery store always has an abundant stock of hearts, liver, feet, tongues, etc. One of my worries when we started eating these cuts of meat was that we would get bored of it over time, that there were only a few ways to prepare these dishes.

Of course, that led me to read recipes and wanting to experiment with cooking. Here’s a few of my favourite recipes about eating offal:

The dish I prepared was completely different from those I read about. As I was reading through the blogs, I was craving Chinese food. I didn’t find many Asian-inspired recipes for eating offal, although I’m sure they’re out there. If you know of any, please point me towards them!

Beef Heart with Shaoxing Wine Sauce

Ingredients

  • 1 beef heart, trimmed (here’s a great tutorial on YouTube) – approximate cost $3.50
  • 5 garlic cloves, halved – approximate cost $0.50
  • 1 cup Shaoxing wine – approximate cost $1.00
  • ⅓ cup dark soy sauce – approximate cost $0.50
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil – approximate cost $0.10
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch – approximate cost $0.05
  • 2 cups water

Method

  1. Cut beef heart into bite-sized pieces.
  2. In a large pot, heat olive oil over medium-high heat.
  3. Add beef heart pieces to the pot and brown the meat.
  4. When the meat is almost completely browned, add garlic and cook for 1 minute.
  5. Add Shaoxing wine, soy sauce, and water.
  6. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to a simmer.
  7. Place a lid on the pot and cook for at least 2 hours (Add more water as it cooks if it looks like it is boiling away).
  8. In a measuring cup, combine cornstarch and a small amount of cold water, stirring until the cornstarch is completely dissolved.
  9. Slowly pour the cornstarch mixture into the pot and stir until thickened.
  10. Serve in bowls with plenty of sauce.

Makes about 6 servings (approximate cost: $0.94 per serving).

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Sweet! I’ve never had beef heart before. I’ve had tongue and liver and tripe, but never heart. How does it taste?

    Reply
    • Hmmmm I’ve never really thought about how to describe the taste. Delicious. The texture is what’s most different. It’s close to a stewing beef (thus, it must be cooked for a few hours). It’s a dense meat. The flavour, to me, isn’t all that different from ground beef.

      Reply
  2. Congratulations on finding a very unique and creative way to save your family money on groceries! I’m not a fan offal, but I find I am more willing to try new things than I used to be! You certainly made it look appetizing! BTW – I am your newest Facebook fan!

    Reply
    • If you’re ever willing to give the offal pieces a try, I suggest starting by trying heart. The texture is firm, but closer to ‘regular’ meat than say liver or kidney.

      Jennifer McLagan’s book “Off Bits” has a great recipe for those who are a bit shy of eating offal. Beef Heart burgers. The burgers are a mixture of lean ground beef and ground beef heart. I haven’t tried this recipe myself, though I’d like to, because we don’t have access to a meat grinder.

      Thanks for being a fan on Facebook!! I’m also a fan on your page!

      Reply
  3. In Colombia we eat every part of the animals :)…If you cook it right……it is delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

