Five Favourites for Friday

This weekend, my family is celebrating grandpa’s 82nd birthday! This year, the family is gathering at a local restaurant to celebrate (and grandma gets the day off, we’ve even convinced her to order a cake instead of baking one herself).

All of my grandparents have been inspirations to and influenced me as a home cook. I was always amazed at how my grandma could cook or bake anything from scratch without a recipe. Especially amazed, even today, by her baking skills. I know this is a common thing to say, but my grandma makes the best apple pie you’ve ever tasted. She doesn’t have a recipe. And I just don’t have the same talent for baking to pick it up. When grandpa cooked, which was usually only breakfast, he always had unlimited patience. He would let me help. He taught me to follow a recipe. He taught me how to make the perfect pancake.

This week’s Five Favourites for Friday post is dedicated to my wonderful grandparents. Following are links to recipes that remind me of childhood memories of visiting my grandparents for an entire week each summer.

Pot Roast from The Pioneer Woman

Spaghetti and Meatballs from Savoury Sweet Life

Basic Mashed Potatoes from The Reluctant Gourmet

Apple Pie from Smitten Kitchen

Old-Fashioned Pancakes from MartaStewart.com

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I certainly like your picks! I hope you have a GREAT weekend!

    Reply
  2. Thank you Ann!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

