Day 21: Comfort

We’re running low on groceries and trying to make it to Monday without having to make a trip to the grocery store. With “comfort” being today’s #MarchFoodPhoto I thought I would make Mac & Cheese. But when I got to the fridge… I realized we were out of milk. And more importantly, we were out of cheese! I know what’s going on my grocery list for next week.

So I improvised, using a few things available in my cupboard and fridge. The resulting casserole is actually quite tasty. I miss the cheese a bit, but I think if I had used fewer breadcrumbs, I wouldn’t miss the cheese at all. Bryan tells me this pasta is “tomato-y.” (Shhh… Don’t tell him it was whole wheat pasta!)

Macaroni and Tomato Casserole

Ingredients

  • 2 cups whole wheat macaroni – approximate cost $2.00
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (do not strain juices) – approximate cost $1.00
  • 1 jar of your favourite tomato-based pasta sauce (I used Prego) – approximate cost $1.00
  • 2 large eggs – approximate cost $0.50
  • 1/4 cup cream – approximate cost $0.25
  • 1 package of hot dogs, sliced – approximate cost $3.50
  • 3/4-1 cup breadcrumbs – approximate cost $1.00

Method

  1. Boil the macaroni in salted water for 8-10 minutes.
  2. Drain the pasta.
  3. Preheat the over to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  4. In a 9×13 baking dish, stir together the cooked pasta, canned tomatoes, pasta sauce, and hot dog slices.
  5. In a small bowl, whisk the eggs with a fork.
  6. Add the cream to the eggs and whisk until combined.
  7. Stir the egg mixture into the pasta mixture.
  8. Top the pasta mixture with breadcrumbs, making sure to cover the pasta in an even layer and that no noodles are exposed (otherwise they will burn).
  9. Bake for 30-45 minutes (the breadcrumbs should begin to brown).
  10. Remove from over and let set for 10-15 minutes.
  11. Serve and enjoy!

Makes about 8 servings  (approximate cost: $1.16 per serving).

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I love it when I can reach into the pantry and create something brand new by looking at what I have. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

