Coconut Lime Sorbet from Relish Cooking Studio

I’m back! I took a few much needed weeks away from blogging to focus on end-of-term papers and such. Feels wonderful to wrap up the last of my courses, well, until September that is.

But enough about school, I’m very excited to have the opportunity to return to the topic of food! You may remember that I’ve been blogging recently about the Thai Culinary Adventure class I attended at Relish Cooking Studio.

This is my last post from this class. However, I attended a second class and have many more fantastic recipes to come!

Today, I’m excited to share their dessert recipe! I’ve mentioned this before, and I’m sure it’s not the last time I will mention this, but I’m not a huge fan of sweets. Which means I will usually pass by a dessert, or enjoy the obligatory small serving. I’m excited about sharing today’s recipe because it’s one that I enjoyed, it’s sweet, but not too sweet. Also, it’s simple to prepare (albeit a bit time consuming) and I can actually picture myself making this at home.

What is your favourite dessert to prepare at home?

coconut lime sorbet

Coconut Lime Sorbet

Recipe by the lovely ladies at Relish Cooking Studio

Ingredients

  • 500 grams (about 2 1/2 cups) superfine sugar – approximate cost $1.50
  • 2 cups coconut water – approximate cost $1.50
  • 1 lime, juiced and zested – approximate cost $0.75
  • 2 cups coconut cream – approximate cost $2.00

coconut lime sorbet

Method

  1. Preheat a sauce pan over low heat.
  2. Combine sugar and coconut water in the saucepan and cook until the sugar is completely dissolved.
  3. Add lime juice and lime zest, then simmer for 5 more minutes.
  4. Stir in the coconut cream and remove from heat.
  5. Allow the mixture to cool completely.
  6. Pour the mixture into a shallow stainless steel container (alternately, you can use an ice cream maker and skip the next set of steps).
  7. Freeze until the mixture is frozen at the edges.Remove from freezer and beat with an electric mixer.
  8. Return the mixture to the freezer.
  9. Repeat steps 6-8 (2-3 times) until the mixture has a sorbet/ice cream-like consistency.
  10. Serve and enjoy!

Makes about 4 servings  (approximate cost: $1.44 per serving).

coconut lime sorbet

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. samanthaangela

     /  April 16, 2012

    What kind of coconut cream do you use? Do you use that stuff that comes in a box?

    Reply
  2. Eva Taylor

     /  April 17, 2012

    I just commented on Lorraine (NQN)’s blog that my favourite ingredient at this moment is lime. I prefer it in savoury but this one looks quite tasty, I may have to give it a go if the weather ever turns warm again (yesterday it was 27°C, today about 10°C).
    Eva http://kitcheninspirations.wordpress.com

    Reply
    • I know, what’s with this weather? (Here in K-W, Ontario and we’ve had the same drastic changes in temperature) I think I’ll try to cut down on the sugar next time. I also love the lime!

      Reply
  3. This looks quite good. Do you buy coconut water in a tin, too, or pour it out of the coconut shell? And I’m seeing mint here, although you didn’t mention it.

    Reply
    • This particular batch was served at Relish Cooking Studio, so I didn’t get to make it myself. I believed they used a prepackaged coconut water. The mint leaves were an optional garnish not listed in the original recipe. Most people didn’t eat them (I did).

      Reply
  1. One Year Blogiversary! « The Cook's Sister

Leave a Reply

