Taka Japanese Restaurant

Normally I stick to talking about home cooking, but today I’d like to share my favourite restaurant with you!

Taka Japanese Restaurant

It doesn’t look all that special from the outside, but Taka Japanese Restaurant is one of our absolute favourite restaurants in K-W. In fact, we made a special trip across town (to the neighbourhood where I grew up) to have dinner at Taka as a belated birthday dinner (as well as a bit of a treat after finishing my papers for the term). Don’t let the appearance fool you, the food is great and the service is fantastic!

After ordering, the waitress informed us that the sushi chef was very busy and our food would be delayed. A few minutes later, our first round of appetizers arrived. These were delicious tofu dishes. I don’t recall the names. In fact, we didn’t order these ourselves. They were on the house while we waited for the sushi. The large piece of tofu was slightly spicy and topped with green onions. The Thinly sliced tofu pieces were marinated in a soy sauce, I think. They were delicious and very much appreciated!

The salad comes with the standard sushi order. Notice the generous portion of salad dressing? This dressing is so fantastic! It has more ginger (and less orange flavour) than the salad dressing we get at most Japanese restaurants. Both Bryan and I love this salad dressing! (The miso soup is missing from this photo.)

Agedashi tofu is one of our favourite appetizers served at the restaurant, which is funny, because I generally claim to not enjoy tofu. I don’t remember who first convinced me to try this dish (though it was probably my former roommate), but we order this every time we visit Taka! It’s always fantastic! Slightly sweet and deep-fried to perfection. I’ve tried agedashi tofu elsewhere and not enjoyed it. Taka has the best one I’ve tried so far!

Shishamo are whole, salted and grilled fish. They are another of our favourite appetizers. We ordered two appetizers because it was a special occasion. And you can always take leftovers home! Between our appetizers and surprise appetizers, we were pretty much full and could have gone home at this point… but there was still the main course to come!

Bryan ordered the sashimi. I gave him a few pieces of spicy salmon roll (left) in exchange for a few pieces of his fish.

I ordered the sushi combo. There’s plenty of sushi and a delicious spicy salmon roll. I love the sushi at Taka! There is just the right amount of rice vinegar in the rice to have a nice flavour and it still be sticky enough to not fall apart when dipped in soy sauce. The fish/seafood portions are generous when compared to the amount of rice. The spicy rolls have a kick, but still very much enjoyable.

If you’re ever in K-W and craving sushi, this is the place to go! The food and service are consistently fantastic! If you’ve been to Taka before, what were your thoughts?

If not, what is your favourite hometown restaurant?

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I’ve never been to this place, or even heard of it. What neighbourhood is it in? My favourite place in Waterloo is Yummyaki’s. They have THE BEST sushi I’ve tried 🙂 But, I will definitely be checking this place out as well. Do they have all-you-can-eat?

    Reply
    • It’s south Kitchener in the Country Hills/Doon area. It’s in a little plaza at the corner of Bleams & Homer Watson. They don’t serve all-you-can-eat, but the portions are so large that you likely won’t miss it.

      Yummyaki is our favourite all-you-can-eat sushi restaurant!

      Reply
  2. Eva Taylor

     /  April 18, 2012

    I love a good Sushi too, Amber. Sadly most of our Japanese places in Toronto are badly decorated and uncomfortable, so we end up doing take out. I have some lovely Sushi dishes we use; the bad side is the incredible amount of takeout containers in the process.
    Eva http://kitcheninspirations.wordpress.com

    Reply
    • Thanks for the feedback Eva! Is there a sushi restaurant in Toronto that you would recommend in particular? I would very much appreciate a suggestion for my next trip to T.O.

      Reply
      • So sorry Amber, I just found this spot in WP that allows me to review comments I hadn’t seen before, sorry I missed this. What area of Toronto will you be in?

        Reply
  3. I love sushi, but my favourite hometown restaurant is the Metro on Victoria street. I’ve been going there since I was a kid and its still delicious.

    Reply
  1. Day 16: Restaurant « The Cook's Sister

Leave a Reply

