NYC foods and sightseeing

On the way home from the conference, Kas and I stopped in NYC for two evenings and spent one full day exploring Manhattan before making the 9+ hour drive home. This was by far my favourite part of the trip! I got to visit with some very good friends of mine (practically my family!). It had been much too long since I’ve visited and hopefully I will be there again soon!

Our day in Manhattan was a fantastic combination of exploration and food-tasting. We took the Subway in (not my favourite part of the trip), and started our journey with a boat tour, I saw the Statue of Liberty for the first time!

Statue of Liberty

Statue of Liberty

We then walked through Battery Park and picked up some hot dogs for lunch (because that’s what you do in NYC, right?). Mostly, we wanted a quick lunch so we could get walking!

NYC hot dog

NYC hot dog

We walked. And walked. Stopped at a few stores. And walked some more.

While looking for Washington Square Park, which we circled it a few times before actually getting there, we came across Waffles and Dinges, a waffle truck Kas had heard about on the Food Network (Kas tells me the name is Belgian for “Waffles and Delicious Things,” or something like that). We had just stopped for pizza (which I didn’t get a picture of because I was too hungry), despite being very full, we had to stop! I’m so glad we did! The waffle was light and crispy. The toppings were fresh and delicious. It. Was. So. Tasty! Stop if you ever come across this waffle truck.

Waffles and Dinges

Waffles and Dinges

Waffle with strawberries, whipped cream, and chocolate sauce

Waffle with strawberries, whipped cream, and chocolate sauce

Afterwards, we finally made it to Washington Square Park.

Washington Square Park

Washington Square Park

Our feet were hurting at this point, but we pressed on. Determined to make it to Central Park. And we did! At this point it was beginning to get dark, so we decided to catch the subway back to my friend’s place. We guess that we walked about 14 1/2 kilometers (or about 9 miles) by the end of the day. I can’t wait to return to NYC!

What food do you enjoy most when visiting NYC? Or if you haven’t been, what would you like to try?

Central Park

Central Park

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I adore NYC and have been so fortunate to have been so often. We’re going at the end of May and have already made reservations for all of our dinners.
    Year’s ago, we did that tour to see the Statue of Liberty. In those days they let you inside to climb all the way up to her crown. It was hot, long and uncomfortable. We all suffered from charlie horse coming down (mainly because people were so S L O W). And we got caught in a huge downpour.
    I hope you were able to get to ground zero and check out the new fountain, it is supposed to be incredible. I can hardly wait to see it.

    Reply
    • It was my second visit to NYC, and I will definitely be going back again (hopefully soon)! I hope that you enjoy your trip to NYC as well!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

