Spicy Green Chile Chicken Enchiladas

Enchiladas are a staple in our home. I find this a bit weird, because I didn’t eat enchiladas growing up. My community had a large German influence, so the only Mexican food I had eaten (until I was about 18) was ground beef tacos. Even now there are very few Mexican restaurants in the area.

With Bryan having grown up in the Southwest US, and my love for the food he introduced me to there, I’ve taken it upon myself to learn to cook a few of the traditional dishes from that region. This isn’t always easy, mostly because finding the ingredients can be difficult.

In particular, New Mexico green chiles (our favourite), are especially hard to find. Chile is a staple in New Mexico. In fact, I tried to order a pizza in New Mexico once with my favourite topping: green olives. They don’t carry green olives and offered me green chiles as a substitute. That same trip, I stopped for a sub on my way to the airport and was surprised to find green chiles as a topping. For now, I make substitutions. It’s never quite the same, but always very tasty.

Usually I will make an enchilada casserole (that is a nice way of saying I cut everything into bite-sized pieces and mix it all together before baking it). Recently, I decided to make the rolled enchiladas. I added a few ingredients to my usual recipe as well (mushrooms and onion). I should do this more often. There is a better ratio of tortillas to filling. And the tortillas come out a bit crispy-er.

Spicy Green Chile Chicken Enchiladas

Ingredients

  • 6 tortillas – approximate cost $1.50
  • 2 medium-sized boneless, skinless chicken breasts – approximate cost $6.50
  • 2 jars of Salsa Verde (green salsa) – approximate cost $4.50
  • 2 cups Mexican-cheese blend (Cheddar, Colby, and Monterey Jack cheeses), shredded – approximate cost $2.00
  • 4 portabella mushrooms – approximate cost $1.50
  • 1 Videlia onion – approximate cost $0.75
  • 1 teaspoon vegetable oil – approximate cost $0.05

Method

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Bake the chicken breasts until cooked through (about 20-30 minutes).
  3. Allow the chicken to cook until you can handle it easily (or refrigerate and save until you’re ready to make the enchiladas).
  4. Grate 2 cups of the various cheeses (or buy already shredded cheese).
  5. Chop the chicken, mushrooms, and onion into small pieces (about 1/4-1/2 inch cubes)
  6. Arrange some of the chicken, onion, mushroom, and cheese in the center of each tortilla (reserving about 1 cup of cheese).
  7. Spread the vegetable oil over the bottom of a 9×13 baking dish.
  8. Roll each of the filled tortillas and place seam down in the baking dish.
  9. Sprinkle remaining cheese over the rolled tortillas.
  10. Pour the Salsa Verde over the tortillas.
  11. Bake the enchiladas at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 20-30 minutes (cheese should be completely melted and tortillas should be starting to get slightly crispy at the edges).
  12. Remove from oven and let stand for 10 minutes before serving.

Makes 8 servings (approximate cost: $2.10 per serving).

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. A lovely, tasty & inspiring recipe! I love it! Yum Yum Yum! 🙂

    Reply
  1. From my cookbook collection: Chicken Jalfrezi « The Cook's Sister

Leave a Reply

