Look at my garden grow!

This year I’m not starting a garden. It’s too much work weeding and preparing to plant. It’s a lot to maintain it. Last year’s garden didn’t grow so well (neither did the neighbour’s), all of the herbs died within the first month and I only got two tomatoes from four tomato plants. Or at least, that’s what I kept telling myself.

But, when my Aunt was in town the other week, she brought tomato plants with her. I couldn’t say no.

This year, I’m taking a different approach to gardening. I bought planters and fresh soil, then placed them in the garden. Each tomato plant (Yellow Cherry and Moonglow) and the basil have their own planter. The other herbs (rosemary, mint, cilantro, and chives) are two in each planter. The plants look healthier than last year already.

My brother is growing a Pink Ponderosa tomato plant. This is one of the ones that didn’t work out for me last year.

My herbs are still growing. The tomatoes haven’t blossomed yet. They’ll grow… I hope.

Any tips for a successful garden?

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Hmm… it looks kind of shady where you’ve set them. How much light do they get there? The tomatoes love sun! They’ll be pretty happy in this humid heat as long as you’re watering them enough.

    For the basil and other herbs, start harvesting now! Trim off leaves and new ones will come, and the plant will fill out and produce even more.

    I’m glad you decided to do a few plants after all!

    Reply
    • It’s not actually that shady, usually. The pictures were taken late afternoon, It’s a sunny spot all morning and into the mid afternoon. I’m trying to water them more often as well.

      Hmmm… didn’t know I could harvest herbs right away! I’ll give them a few more days before enjoying them. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Awesome! I am so bad at anything to do with gardening 🙂

    Reply
  3. tomato plants do need a lot of sunshine per day & you can grow them bigger on 20°C ! They need that to grow bigger & bigger! Younger plants, I place by the heater. Good luck with it all!

    Reply
    • Thanks Sophie! It’s a good thing my plants are all potted… and I can move the tomatoes into the sum a bit more as everyone has suggested!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

