Improv Challenge: Cherries and Almonds

I’m so excited to be participating in another Improv Challenge hosted by Kristen from Frugal Antics of a Harried Homemaker!

I actually had thought I missed the Improv Challenge . Somehow I had convinced myself that the posts needed to be up on June 15th. A big thank you to Liz from That Skinny Chick Can Bake who pointed out that I had misread the date and still had a week to write the post!

This month’s ingredients are cherries and almonds. I don’t recall ever pairing these ingredients. However, I’ve been assured over the last month that I would love it. And I do!

My cherry and almond recipe is inspired by the heat wave going on right now. It was 32 degrees Celsius today (89.6 degrees Fahrenheit). I didn’t want to turn the oven on to bake (we don’t have A/C). So I made an icy drink instead. I enjoy it very much! Bryan’s not a fan of the texture of the ground almonds. I’ll make this with an almond extract next time.

Icy Drink with Cherries and Almonds

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup raw almonds – approximate cost $1.00
  • 1/2 cup frozen cherries – approximate cost $1.00
  • 2 sprigs of mint leaves – approximate cost $0.06
  • 1 cup water
  • 10 ice cubes

Method

  1. Soak almonds in a glass of water for at least 2 hours.
  2. Drain almonds.
  3. Blend almond in blender until finely ground.
  4. Add cherries and continue to blend.
  5. Add water and ice cubes.
  6. Blend until smooth (you may need to add a bit more water).
  7. Serve in two tall glasses and garnish with sprigs of mint leaves.

Makes 2 servings (approximate cost: $1.03 per serving).



Leave a comment

38 Comments

  1. Yum! Its 97 degrees here today so this would be a perfect dessert.

    Reply
    • Thanks Nichole! If your family isn’t a fan of the almond pieces, like Bryan, you can try almond extract, or maybe use almond milk instead of water. Hope you find a good way to keep cool today!

      Reply
  2. Mmm… looks tasty!

    I can’t blame you for not wanting to turn on your oven these days. We’re still A/C-less too, despite attempting to be pro-active back in April (grumblegrumble*AC-guy-flake-out*grumblegrumble), but last night, against my better judgement, I baked muffins and banana bread for our weekend. It got so hot, as soon as I was done, we closed ourselves into our bedroom – we put in a temporary, cheap window unit – and didn’t come out ’til this morning. The house still feels like an oven!

    Reply
    • Thanks Jeanette! Muffins and banana bread sound fantastic right about now, but I’m not turning the oven on today! Even the cat is lazing about near the fan.

      Reply
  3. I feel the same what about turning on the stove when it’s hot. Those drinks would hit the spot for sure!!

    Reply
    • Thanks Kristen! Sure did, but now I need to perfect the recipe a bit so both Bryan and I can enjoy it (he really didn’t like the almond pieces). 🙂

      Reply
  4. Yup! No stove turning on for me — not when it’s 113°F out there! I’m going to try a frozen cherry drink for lunch, I think.

    Reply
    • Thanks Melody! I hope you have a wonderful day and that you enjoy your frozen cherry drink!

      Reply
  5. Wow, I would have never thought to do a drink! Gotta try this, although 89.6 F sounds like a cold spell to me right now, we are in the 98 – 105 F range most days, this will be perfect to cool us down (of course we do have A/C, it’s a must here in Texas). Pinning.

    Reply
    • Thanks Terry! It is quite refreshing and not overly sweet.

      Oh my, I don’t think I could live in Texas during the summer months!

      Reply
  6. What a great idea for the challenge! This looks so refreshing!

    Reply
  7. Whoa! YUM! This is exactly what I needed for our heat wave too! The color is beautiful and I LOVE that the ground almonds added texture! : )

    Reply
    • Thanks Anne! The texture of the ground almonds isn’t for everyone… I really enjoyed it, but Bryan didn’t. Next time I’ll make his with an almond extract, or maybe almond milk.

      Reply
  8. What a refreshing drink! I was at a baseball game yesterday; it was 93 degrees and we were sitting in direct sun all day. I really could have used one of these drinks!

    Reply
    • Thanks Lesa! Hope the baseball game went well! I wonder if this would keep well in a thermos if you decided to take it to future outings… 🙂

      Reply
  9. What a great way to combine these ingredients!

    Reply
  10. This drink sounds so refreshing! I want one right now. YUM! Great post 🙂

    Reply
  11. The cherries give these such a wonderful color…and so much delicious flavor! A yummy, healthy drink…perfect for these dog days of summer~

    Reply
    • Thanks Liz! I briefly considered making this more like a green smoothie and adding some kale… I’m glad I didn’t, the cherries made it quite pretty and the mint garnish pops out more. 🙂

      Reply
  12. A delightful & refreshing drink which I love! 🙂 Yummm!

    Reply
  13. Hey there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

    Reply
  14. I think almond milk would be good in this — and would eliminate texture problems, as you suggested, while giving you a fresher and fuller flavor than extract. Cherries are gone here now, but I can always try this next year.

    Reply
  1. Cilantro Tomato Corn Salad with a Lemon-Butter Dressing « The Cook's Sister
  2. Improv Challenge: Tomatoes and Peppers « The Cook's Sister
  3. Improv Challenge: Zucchini and Brown Sugar « The Cook's Sister
  4. Improv Challenge: Chocolate and Marshmallows « The Cook's Sister
  5. Improv Challenge: Bananas and Nutmeg « The Cook's Sister
  6. Piparkakut (Finnish Gingerbread) Cookies | The Cook's Sister
  7. Improv Challenge: Shepherd’s Pie | The Cook's Sister
  8. Improv Challenge: Cinnamon and Sugar (Strawberry Cobbler) | The Cook's Sister
  9. Improv Challenge: Fish and Chips (Fried Fish-Shaped Chips) | The Cook's Sister
  10. Improv Challenge: Peaches and Herbs (Pork Chops with a Peach and Sage Glaze) | The Cook's Sister

Leave a Reply

