Raw Vegan Summertime Strawberry Cheezecake

This week, I wanted dessert, but didn’t want to bake. I wanted to use seasonal ingredients. I wanted something that wasn’t overly sweet…. Then I came across Kris’ recent blog post for Raw Vegan Summertime Strawberry Cheezecake. Yum!

So far, Bryan hasn’t been a fan of raw desserts. I had him taste test raw apple pie in cupcake tins, raw banana coconut “creme” cake, raw apple cobbler, and raw apple crumble. He gave it a try and ate a whole serving of each, but wasn’t a fan. The apple dishes, however, he enjoyed if we heated them up. He hasn’t tried this cake yet. I’m not going to force him to try it (more for me, right?).

We actually had a discussion about these desserts on Saturday after announcing my intention to bring raw brownies to a potluck on Sunday. Dad didn’t like the sound of them. I couldn’t figure out why he was so opposed to the idea without even trying it first! (What’s not to love about a healthier version of the traditional brownie?) Apparently, there are people out there who don’t like dates! I’ve always enjoyed them, so this comes as a bit of a surprise to me that people don’t like the flavour of them.

I guess what I’m getting to is, this dessert is delicious, if you enjoy the ingredients listed. To me, it’s as delicious as Kris promises!

What is your stance on raw desserts? Love them? Hate them? Still need to try them?

Because I have not adapted this recipe, I will list the ingredients and approximate cost. I’ve also taken photos of the process. However, please visit Kris’ blog for the full recipe and directions.

Raw Vegan Summertime Strawberry Cheezecake

Recipe by Kris from Layakari Yoga

Ingredients

Crust

  • 3/4 cup raw almonds – approximate cost $1.75
  • 3/4 cup (about 12) pitted Medjool dates – approximate cost $3.00
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt – approximate cost $0.05

Filling

  • 2 cups raw cashews – approximate cost $7.00
  • 2 quarts strawberries – approximate cost $8.00
  • 2 lemons, juiced – approximate cost $2.00
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract – approximate cost $0.25
  • 3 tablespoons agave nectar – approximate cost $0.50

Notes

  • Soak cashews for at least 6 hours (overnight) and rinse twice before processing.
  • Use fresh, local berries if possible.
  • Substitute strawberries for another berry of your choice to change thing up.
  • Reserve some of the fruit as a topping.
  • Agave is not as thick as honey, be careful when measuring it.
  • Slice pie into individual servings, wrap in foil, and re-freeze for an easy dessert (lasts up to one week in the freezer).
  • Thaw pie (slices) for about 20 minutes before serving.

Makes 8 servings (approximate cost: $2.82 per serving).

Visit Kris’ blog post for directions on how to prepare this fantastic cake!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I love that you made this Amber, and it turned out well for you too! This cake is soo delicious. I’m already planning to make another, even though I ate most of the last batch myself. My mom is back from vacation, so at least I’ll be able to share it with her 🙂

    I love raw desserts – especially ones I make myself. You can literally eat a slice of this cake and not feel guilty. You’re getting your carbs, protein and fat all from whole foods sources. It’s amazing.

    Reply
    • Thanks Kris! Your directions were really easy to follow, it’s no wonder the cake turned out well (it’s both pretty and delicious)!

      I agree, homemade raw desserts are the best ones! They’re so simple to prepare and much more affordable when made at home. And the healthy factor helps me feel better about enjoying a treat at the end of a meal.

      Reply
  2. With all those nuts I would think this is a very rich and heavy cheesecake, was it?

    Reply
    • One slice is definitely enough! It was a bit heavy, but very nice for the summer because it’s frozen.

      Reply
  1. No Bake Cherry Cheesecake « The Cook's Sister

Leave a Reply

