Chicken Roasted with Rosemary and Smoked Paprika

I’ve been working in a butcher shop this summer. It’s a big change from the last few years, I’ve mostly worked office type jobs. It’s been a long time since I worked in customer service. Yet, I can’t complain at all about being back in that line of work! The hours are irregular, but they work around my academic schedule. The people I work with are all fantastic! The customers are pleasant. Some of them like to talk to me about cooking and even ask me for cooking advice. And, I get a discount on meat.

Each week since I’ve started, I’ve brought home something different. So I can try it and give an honest opinion to the customers. I also just want to have good food (all the product is local, free range, hormone free and antibiotic free). Last week I brought home a whole chicken. Despite my ambition to keep the apartment cool by not turning on the oven… I broke down and roasted a lovely whole chicken.

I can’t get enough of this chicken! It’s so delicious. I’m also a bit obsessed with smoked paprika at the moment (I just bought my very first bottle of it this month). I love paprika to begin with, but smoked tastes and smells delicious! I may be going a bit overboard with the ingredient at the moment… I’ve been adding smoked paprika to just about everything!

After picking apart the chicken over a few meals, I used the bones and bits of leftover meat to make chicken stock. Actually, I’ve learned more about making soup stocks recently. One of my co-workers and I were discussing it the other week. Apparently I’ve been doing it wrong the last few years since I started cooking for myself. Apparently you should never let the stock boil, only simmer. A slow cooker will bring it to a boil, so you should always make stock on the stove-top. If it boils, the stock will become cloudy. I kept this in mind while making chicken stock the other day.

What are your favourite spices to use when roasting a chicken?

Chicken Roasted with Rosemary and Smoked Paprika

Ingredients

  • 1 whole chicken – approximate cost $15.00
  • 3 tablespoons smoked paprika – approximate cost $0.75
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil – approximate cost $0.25
  • 1 teaspoon dried rosemary – approximate cost $0.10
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt – approximate cost $0.05
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper – approximate cost $0.05

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 350° Fahrenheit.
  2. In a small bowl, combine smoked paprika, dried rosemary, sea salt, and black pepper and mix well.
  3. Add olive oil to the spices and stir well.
  4. Gently loosen the skin from the chicken (breast, legs, back), being careful not to tear it.
  5. Place the chicken in a roasting pan.
  6. Rub the spice mix under the chicken’s skin.
  7. If you have extra spice mixture, pour it over top of the chicken.
  8. Add about 1/2 cup of water to the bottom of the roasting pan.
  9. Roast the chicken, covered, until cooked through.
  10. Remove cover (lid, aluminum foil).
  11. Turn the oven to broil.
  12. Continue to cook until the skin becomes crispy.
  13. Remove from oven.
  14. Allow to stand 5 minutes.
  15. Serve with your favourite side dished and enjoy!

Makes about 6 servings + stock (approximate cost: $2.70 per serving).

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Where did you get the smoked paprika? Somewhere in town?

    Reply
  2. Oh yeah!! 🙂

    Reply
  3. This looks awesome. Can’t wait to make for dinnner!

    Reply
  4. We just roasted a whole chicken, but fortunately, it was on the BBQ! It heated up the deck, but not the inside, thank goodness. I adore smoked paprika too, I must remember to add it to my chicken next time. I usually roast it with garlic and herbs en Provence, so tasty. I have some left overs in the fridge which will be dinner tonight.

    Reply
    • Sounds delicious! I will have to try that combination sometime soon! Thanks for your feedback Eva!

      Reply
  5. Amber…this looks scrumptious! All that juice! I don’t mind turning on the oven to roast a chicken…it beats cooking over the stove! I’ll be looking forward to seeing what else you bring home! Great idea to try a bit of everything! : )

    Reply
    • Thanks Anne! Yes, I’m starting to realize that cooking at all during the summer warms up the apartment. We’ve been trying to enjoy more cold foods, such as salads and to cook enough to last a few days so we don’t have to endure the heat too much.

      Reply
  1. Hanger Steak « The Cook's Sister
  2. Chicken Burgers with Smoked Paprika and Rosemary « The Cook's Sister

Leave a Reply

