Foods to Help You Keep Cool Through Summer Heat Waves

Jeanette from This Dusty House blogged last week about her thoughts on “being media.” I started to reflect a bit on this myself. While I haven’t been invited to any events (yet!), I’ve been receiving numerous emails over the last few months. Some offer discounts on new products such as kitchen gadgets or cookbooks, others provide contest information to win a new product, others are simply press releases informing me of what’s going on in the food industry.

For now, the number of emails is few. I enjoy receiving, reading, and feeling like I have a role to play as a food blogger. Someone has targeted me, specifically with their message. It hadn’t occurred to me that, even though I’m interacting with others through social media, I am part of the media. Unpaid, yes. But part of it nonetheless. It really struck me after reading Jeanette’s post and, that same day receiving a press release.

Today, I want to share with you one of the articles that I found especially interesting. I liked it so much that I asked if I could share it on this blog! I’m happy to say that Amanda is allowing me to share it with you! I think her article struck me because it was timed so well, that is,  it was initially sent to me on a hot summer day. When my cooking and blogging goals are to focus on summer foods that don’t require turning on the oven and unnecessarily heating up the home.

I hope that you enjoy Amanda’s article as much as I did! I hadn’t thought of adding zests into my food and drinks to help cool off. I will try adding some lime or lemon zest to my next smoothie!

Do you find her advice helpful? Is there anything you will implement to help you keep cool this summer?

Beat the Heat with These Super Cool Foods: Chicago Nutritionist Amanda Skrip Offers Insight on Summer Heat Waves

It may be hot outside, but it doesn’t mean you have to lose your cool! Stocking your kitchen with the right foods will keep you chilled out all summer long. In addition to eating these fresh picks, be sure to drink plenty of water and eat lightly! Nutritional expert Amanda Skrip shares her five foods to eat to stay cool below:

1. Eat Your Water

Water rich produce like watermelon, cucumbers, radishes, and even leafy greens, will quench your thirst and keep you hydrated.  They are low in calories, easy to digest, and rich in anti-oxidants.   Add cucumber or melon to a pitcher of water for extra flavor. Use fresh cut crudité to dip into spreads and salsas rather than salty, fatty, and dehydrating chips. Spend extra time in the produce section and at green markets this summer, and you’ll be fresh and glowing through the fall.

2. Get Zesty

Lemons, limes, oranges, and grapefruits are some of the most cooling fruits around.  They are also great at aiding in digestion and breaking down fatty foods.  Keep citrus on hand to make salad dressings or to squeeze onto plain veggies.  Adding lemon or lime to plain water is a great way to liven up the flavor – and to get a giant dose of Vitamin C.  Your strengthened immunity will keep summertime colds at bay.

3. Stay Fresh

Herbs like mint, basil, cilantro, and parsley have naturally cooling and soothing properties.  Their fresh flavor will liven your spirit as well as your plate!  Get in the habit of adding fresh herbs to your cooking.  They are also great tossed into salads and blended into smoothies.

4. Spice it Up

Spicing it up will cool you down!  Adding heat to your plate with ginger, chilies, cayenne pepper, and black pepper might make your mouth a little fiery, but will help cool your body’s internal flame.  Grate fresh ginger into marinades or sprinkle chili flakes on bland chicken or vegetables.

Foods to Avoid

Oily, fatty, and salty foods, soda and sugary beverages, they make it difficult to digest (wheat, dairy, fried foods, etc)

Click Here For Amanda’s Suggested Recipes: Watermelon & Basil Salad, Coconut-Cucumber Mint Cooler, and Tomato-Mango Salsa

About Amanda Skrip

Amanda is a natural foods educator, chef, health coach, and wellness expert. Amanda received her culinary training at the Natural Gourmet Institute and continued her nutrition education at the Institute for Integrative Nutrition. Amanda works with a variety of clients to create small shifts that have a big impact on health, weight and energy. Amanda teaches public cooking classes at Whole Foods Market in Chicago, is the resident chef of Bump Club and Beyond, and is a nutritional coach for Ruth’s Hemp Foods. She has been featured in DailyCandy, Vital Juice, Mindful Metropolis and has appeared on I Am Healthy Radio and NBC Chicago. For more information, please visit: www.amandaskrip.com

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. We eat so much watermelon during the hot days of summer. I think we ate a whole one between myself and the husband on Sunday. In one day!

    Reply
    • That’s quite the feat! It took us two days to get through our watermelon. The plan was to freeze it into cubes to make watermelon smoothies… but we ate it all before I got to that. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Thanks for all the info. Very interesting.

    Reply
  3. Great info! i love cucumbers and watermelon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

