Chorizo and Cous Cous Stir Fry

I really wanted to try the chorizo sausages from work the other day, but I wasn’t quite sure what to do with them. I was told they are a bit spicy to serve as a sausage on a bun and that they were commonly served in Mexican dishes. This is enough to deter me, I like spicy foods, but can rarely handle the spice in large doses. I decided to make an experimental stir fry of sorts with the food I already had in my fridge and the cupboards. Things I had around for a while and wanted to use up. Things I hoped would pair well with the sausages. I hoped mixing in the grains and vegetables would tone down the spiciness of the sausages. Added a few more spices for some added flavour.

The result? It doesn’t look like much, a bit boring actually. But this stir fry is packed with flavour. (Add some cayenne pepper if you like yours a bit more spicy!) It was better the second day after the flavours absorbed into the cous cous. On top of that, it’s very affordable! We will be making this (or a variation) again!

Chorizo and Cous Cous Stir Fry

Ingredients

  • 4 chorizo sausages – approximate cost $3.50
  • 2 cups cous cous, cooked according to the package – approximate cost $2.00
  • 1 can (about 1 1/2 cups) lentils – approximate cost $1.50
  • 1 bunch swiss chard, (about 2 cups) roughly chopped – approximate cost $2.50
  • 1 tablespoon smoked paprika – approximate cost $0.15
  • 1 teaspoon cumin – approximate cost $0.10
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt – approximate cost $0.05
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper – approximate cost $0.10

Method

  1. Cook the chorizo in a frying pan over medium heat.
  2. Remove from frying pan and set aside to cool.
  3. Prepare cous cous according to the package.
  4. Add the lentils to the cous cous (immediately after adding cous cous to boiling water).
  5. Mix well and set aside.
  6. Bring a large pot of water to a boil.
  7. Blanch the swiss chard pieces.
  8. Slice the chorizo into bite-sized pieces.
  9. Add the chorizo, smoked paprika, cumin, sea salt, black pepper and swiss chard to a frying pan.
  10. Stir until well-combined and warmed.
  11. Add the chorizo and swiss chard mixture to the cous cous and lentils mixture.
  12. Mix well so the spices are thoroughly blended into the cous cous.
  13. Serve warm and enjoy!

Makes 6 servings (approximate cost: $1.65 per serving).

What’s Cooking Wednesday is a weekly blog hop/link party hosted by The King’s Court IVTurning The Clock Back, and Confessions of an Overworked Mom.

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. If you added a couple of shrimp you could almost call this a paella! What a lovely flavourful dish.

    Reply
  2. It does look rather like paella!! Chorizo sausage rocks. Seriously. Whether it’s rice, a baguette, or some pasta, chorizo adds a ton of flavor to whatever it accompanies! I like your addition of more spices and serving it with fluffy cous cous- brilliant!

    Reply
    • Thank you! Thanks for the ideas of how to use chorizo… I haven’t cooked with it much, but I’ll definitely be having it again!

      Reply
  3. omg! i want to eat this and i was pretty full from my lunch which i just had 15 minutes ago. who knew these pictures could make me hungry so fast? lol

    Reply
  4. It’s a very unusual way to use chorizo and most of all to make a stir-fry. Your invention looks fabulous.

    Reply
    • Thanks Sissi! I really wasn’t sure what to do with chorizo, I’m open to suggestions if you have any good recipes!

      Reply
  5. A lovely dinner which my hubby & I love! a must make! 🙂
    Yum Yum Yum!

    Reply
  6. Amber….this looks scrumptious! I love cooking with chorizo and I bet this was even better as the couscous soaked up all those wonderful spices!

    Reply
    • Thanks Anne! It was definitely one of those better-the-next-day meals! (Not that it wasn’t delicious the day it was made)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

