Beef Burgers with Bacon and Red Onion

These burgers are from a few weeks ago. I delayed posting them because I didn’t want all of my posts to be about burgers. I didn’t want you to get bored… and I didn’t want to get bored of writing about burgers. I’ve been making a lot of burgers in the last few months. I make burgers at work and then come home and make more burgers (mind you, mine are a bit more fun because I can put all kinds of ingredients in them).

These burgers in particular were not planned. They were a last minute “you’re leaving at what time and need burgers!?” creation. I was going to roast some Anaheim peppers and add them to the mixture, but there just wasn’t enough time. I hadn’t panned on adding bacon or onion for that matter. I wasn’t very happy with the burger mixture because I had to make last minute changes. Despite that, they were very good. Bryan took two over to a friend’s place to cook for dinner… he tells me everyone else thought they looked and smelled amazing.

I kept two at home for us. I was much less disappointed with the burgers once they were cooked and served for dinner.

Have you ever had to make an unplanned meal in a hurry? How did it turn out?

Beef Burgers with Bacon and Red Onion

Ingredients

  • 1 pound ground beef – approximate cost $4.50
  • 1 egg – approximate cost $0.35
  • 1 cup breadcrumbs – approximate cost $0.75
  • 4 slices of bacon – approximate cost $1.00
  • 1/2 red onion – approximate cost $0.30
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning – approximate cost $0.10
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper – approximate cost $0.10
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt – approximate cost $0.05
  • 8 slices of old cheddar cheese (about 200 grams) – approximate cost $2.00
  • 4 cheese buns – approximate cost $2.00

Method

  1. Cook the bacon (I baked it in the oven).
  2. Grate the red onion.
  3. Crumble the bacon.
  4. Combine the ground beef, egg, breadcrumbs, onion, bacon, Italian seasoning, sea salt and black pepper in a large mixing bowl.
  5. Mix thoroughly using your hands (but be careful not to over-work the meat, that will make it tough).
  6. Divide the beef mixture into 4 portions.
  7. Shape each portion into a burger patty.
  8. Cook the burger patties any way you like!
    1. Barbecue the burgers until cooked through and slightly toast the buns.
    2. Fry the burgers over medium-high heat.
    3. Grill the burgers on a counter-top grill.
    4. Broil the burgers in the oven, turning once to cook both sides.
  9. Serve on cheese buns with two slices of old cheddar cheese and your favourite toppings!

Serving Suggestions

Serve with slices of your favourite vegetables and condiments.

Vegetables

  • Red onion
  • Spanish onion
  • Tomato
  • Lettuce
  • Avocado

Condiments

  • Barbecue sauce
  • Mayo
  • Ketchup
  • Mustard
  • Relish
  • Dill relish

Makes 4 servings (approximate cost: $2.79 per serving + toppings and condiments).

Monday Link Parties

Photobucket

mop it up mondays

Mouthwatering Mondays

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. Eva Taylor

     /  August 13, 2012

    Summer sure is the time for burgers, Amber and these look great. I got a meat grinder attachment for my KitchenAid mixer, I should make burgers soon!

    Reply
  2. That’s a good looking burger! I love avocado so I love that you had that on your toppings list.

    Reply
  3. These look great! Thanks for sharing at Must Try Monday!

    Reply
  4. Thank you for visiting my blog earlier! I love the Burger – pinned!
    Linda

    Reply
  5. Love burgers on the grill. And love the avocado on my burgers too! Thanks for sharing on Hunk of Meat Monday!

    Reply
  6. Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier. Holy Cow, these burgers look amazing!! Our burgers are always so plain. Just the meat and some ketchup. Maybe some cheese. My husband is going to be so excited to try this out.By the way, what kind of bun is that? Did I miss it in the directions?

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping by Michelle! It’s a cheese bun. I chose that because it was bigger than a normal hamburger bun, and because cheese is awesome.

      Reply
  7. dude – i’ve been craving burgers all week and i think this one just put me over the edge. anything with bacon is a good idea in my opinion.

    Reply
    • Thanks Kristy! Bacon does make everything better. 🙂 It’s really nice in the burger patty (as opposed to being a topping), helps keep the meat moist.

      Reply
  8. I LOVE a good burger and yours look especially good!!

    Reply
  9. I LOVE the way you crumble the bacon and mix it in with the ground beef! What a great idea! I love bacon burgers but the bacon always ends up falling out of the bun. This is a fabulous burger! Thanks for spending time at my blog today! I’m so glad you like my chile series! Hope to see you again! Now I’m headed to explore you place. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping by MJ – your chile series is fantastic!

      Not only does the bacon in the mixture keep it from falling off the burger, it helps keep the burger a bit more moist.

      Reply
  1. From my cookbook collection: Chicken Jalfrezi « The Cook's Sister
  2. Butter Chicken Inspired Burgers on Basmati Rice « The Cook's Sister

Leave a Reply

