Watermelon, Cucumber and Mint Smoothie

I’ve had a smoothie almost every day this summer. They’re really a great breakfast. Filling and nutritious, yet easy to prepare (and to take on the road if you’re in a hurry). I try to keep things interesting by combining different ingredients. I usually start with a liquid, such as water, chilled tea, almond milk, coconut milk, or rice milk. Add whatever fruit I have on hand. Greens of some sort, such as spinach, kale, or cucumbers, Sweeteners such as maple syrup or honey if the flavours are tart. Maybe a spoon of cacao, maca powder, or chia seeds to make it extra healthy.

What is maca powder, you ask? Maca is “a highly nutrient-dense whole food, as it is packed with vitamins, plant sterols, many essential minerals, amino acids and healthy fats. This is a particularly powerful and balanced food for athletes and those who are looking to combat stress or increase stamina” (Navita Naturals). I learned about Maca at the Raw Food Workshop last year. Chef Shaidle told us of the many benefits of eating maca. The first few times I included it in a smoothie, I hated the taste. So I put less in, hoping that the other flavours would overpower it. Though, I’ve found that I’ve come to enjoy it (still in moderate amounts).

Maca powder gives smoothies a strong flavour. If you dislike or don’t have maca powder, you can easily leave it out. If it’s your first time using maca powder, use about half of what this recipe calls for.

If you eat maca, how do you add maca powder to your food? I’d like to know how I can use this other than in smoothies!

Watermelon, Cucumber and Mint Smoothie

Ingredients

  • 2 cups watermelon, cut into 1 inch pieces – approximate cost $1.50
  • 1/2 English cucumber, cut into 1 inch pieces – approximate cost $0.75
  • 1 heaping teaspoon maca powder – approximate cost $0.70
  • 1 tablespoon honey – approximate cost $0.50
  • Handful of mint leave, reserve 4 pieces for garnish – approximate cost $0.75
  • 1/4 cup cold water
  • 6 ice cubes

Method

  1. Place the watermelon, cucumber, maca, honey, mint leaves, and water in a blender.
  2. Blend until ingredients are well-combined
  3. Add ice cubes.
  4. Blend until ice cubes are crushed and mixed well into smoothie.
  5. Pour into two serving glasses.
  6. Gently rub the mint leave to release flavour.
  7. Garnish with reserved mint leaves.
  8. Serve and enjoy!

Makes 2 servings (approximate cost: $2.10 per serving).

Wednesday Link Parties

Cast Party Wednesday

White Lights on Wednesdays

Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. Wow that smoothie sounds gorgeous, so refreshing! I love mint and cucumber in a smoothie and watermelon too. I’m really craving this smoothie now as we’ve just had some very rare hot weather here in the UK so it’s a great summery drink.

    Reply
  2. i’m usually of the mind to eat my food and not drink it, but this one does sound interesting. The mint, cucumber and watermelon would be a lovely summertime taste, Amber. I love the photo looking into the blender, very cool.

    Reply
  3. This looks great! Perfect for the summertime.

    Reply
  4. lovenaturalfood

     /  August 15, 2012

    I’ve been having a smoothie for breakfast most days too. Love this combination, although I’ve never tried maca before; it’s now on my shopping list! A smoothie is such a nutritious and satisfying start to the day, isn’t it?

    Reply
  5. it sounds really refreshing!

    Reply
  6. I LOVE smoothies and even better when it tastes like a tropical drink!! 🙂 My name is Cindy and I blog over at Vegetarianmamma.com I wanted to invite you to link up your recipe at our Gluten Free Fridays Recipe Link up party! It happens every Friday and we’d love to have you join us with some of your awesome recipes! You can find this week’s link up here: http://vegetarianmamma.com/gluten-free-friday-recipe-link-up-1/
    Thanks, Cindy

    Reply
  7. The smoothies look georgous & very refreshing too! A tsrange combo fo ingredients but I will make these beauties! Yumm!

    Reply
    • Thanks Sophie! I’ve been trying to experiment with green smoothies and wanted a mild flavoured green to go with the mild flavoured watermelon. Let me know if you try out the smoothie and what you think of it!

      Reply
  8. i seriously have so much watermelon and cucumbers in the fridge right now (thank YOU farmer’s market), i wasn’t sure what to do with it all… i think you’ve solved this dilemma for me.

    thank you for taking the time to link up with us at the Wednesday Fresh Foods Blog Hop! We hope to see you again this Wednesday with more fantastic seasonal & real food posts 🙂 xo, kristy

    Reply
    • You can never have too many watermelons and cucumbers this time of year! I love fresh food from the farmer’s market! Hope you get a chance to try these smoothies, let me know what you think if you do!

      Reply
  9. This drink looks soo perfect for this time of year! And did I mention totally refreshing?! Thank you for sharing with us on Allergy-Free Wednesdays.

    Reply
  10. I love, love, love smoothie recipes! My favorite is a green smoothie with kale, spirulina, apple & pineapple, but this one sounds so refreshing with the watermelon, cucumber, & mint. I have a link-up party going on if you are interested in sharing it further. http://www.glutenfreeyummy.com/alive-thrive-thursday-8-1-13/

    Reply
  11. Raven mcbain

     /  September 16, 2013

    I LOVE. This, always on the lookout for cucumber and watermelon drinks, thanks! I was wondering if almond milk and acai powder would work (replacing the water and maca)

    Reply
    • Not sure, but definitely worth a try! The maca is a very strong flavour, so if you like the taste of the acai, I’m sure it would be great! Almond milk usually has a very distinct taste. I’m sure it would also add some complexity to the smoothie. Let me know how it works out!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

