Homemade Tomato Pizza Sauce

I spent my first weekend out of town this summer. By weekend, I mean Sunday. One day away was enough though. It was gorgeous. The sun was shining, and I saw my family for the first time in about a month. We chat a few times a week, so I hear from them regularly, but it was nice to spend a day together. And I missed the dogs, so it was good to see them too. We went to Grand Bend area for the day. Shopped at a flea market where I got the cutest two tea cups. I feel the need to invite someone over to have a tea party. I want a reason to bring out these gorgeous cups.

Then off to a park where my dad and step-mom camp every weekend during the summer months. We went down to the beach for a swim. The water was gorgeous! I didn’t take my camera there, I wanted to swim as opposed to sitting on shore watching. Then back up to the campsite for a short rest. Dad and I then took the dogs out to the field to play frisbee.

Both dogs love chasing the frisbee, but Rebel always gets there first. He’s much faster than Rascal, for now.

Rebel loves this game. He loves to run. He loves to please you by bringing the frisbee back. He’d play all day if we let him.

Rascal, on the other hand, will chase the frisbee a few times and then gets tired. Half way through or so he decided to come sit in my lap while I took pictures of Rebel.

We took a short walk just before dinner to an overlook.

We had a fantastic dinner of steaks, baked potatoes, and Nana’s homemade coleslaw.

However, I didn’t get any pictures of dinner, so I’m going to share homemade pizza sauce. Last week I bought some ready made pizza crusts and some delicious toppings. I was all excited about the pizza I was about to make for lunch, opened the fridge, and realized that I was out of tomato sauce. I didn’t really feel like making a second trip to the grocery store, so I searched the Internet instead, hoping the find a recipe that would allow me to use the ingredients I already had at home. Many recipes called for tomato paste and canned tomatoes, which, oddly, I didn’t have on hand that day. I had fresh tomatoes, surely that would make a tastier sauce?

Anyway, I was very happy with the resulting sauce. It took longer to cook than I would have liked, but I think I was just being really impatient. I was hungry and had expected to make a quick lunch. Instead, it took closer to half an hour before lunch was ready. If you have the time, this sauce is well worth the wait!

When making homemade pizza, do you make your own sauce or use a store-bought sauce?

Pizza Sauce

Adapted from New York Style Pizza Sauce (seriouseats.com)

Ingredients

  • 2 ripe tomatoes, diced – approximate cost $1.00
  • 1/2 red onion, diced – approximate cost $0.50
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil – approximate cost $0.10
  • 2 garlic cloves – approximate cost $0.20
  • 1 teaspoon dried Italian seasoning – approximate cost $0.10
  • Pinch of cayenne pepper – approximate cost $0.05
  • Pinch of sea salt – approximate cost $0.05

Method

  1. Place all of the ingredients in a blender.
  2. Blend for about 20 seconds (trying the keep the sauce a bit chunky).
  3. Pour the sauce into a medium-sized pot.
  4. Cook on medium heat until the sauce is reduced and thick (about 20 minutes), stirring once in a while to make sure it doesn’t burn.
  5. Remove from heat.
  6. Spread the sauce over pizza crust.

Makes enough sauce for a 6-9 inch pizza (approximate cost: $2.00).

Monday Link Parties

Photobucket

mop it up mondays

Mouthwatering Mondays

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. Hi Amber, it looks like you had a great day. It was a little chilly where I was on the weekend so we didn’t go swimming.
    I usually make my own sauce, but we rarely use a tomato based pizza, it’s usually caramelized onions or a yogurt base.

    Reply
    • It was pretty fantastic! It’s very nice to get out of the city once in a while!

      Your pizza sauce sounds delish!

      Reply
  2. Melissa @ Treats With a Twist

     /  August 20, 2012

    Looks great! I find that it’s always worth it to make my own pizza sauce. And then the variations are endless! Great post

    Reply
    • Thanks Melissa! I’m definitely please with the results and will be making my own pizza sauce more often. I’m thinking the next one will need to use a bunch of rosemary or basil from my garden.

      Reply
  3. pictureperfectcooking

     /  August 20, 2012

    Your sauce looks great and I love the doggie photos!

    Reply
    • Thanks! It’s hard to take pics of moving pets (especially when I’m used to taking pics of food).

      Reply
  4. I have been wanting to try a homemade pizza sauce. This one sounds easy enough!

    Reply
  5. Looks tasty! I have been craving pizza lately. I need to try your recipe. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Jennifer! Let me know if you get a chance to try it out, I’d love to hear your feedback!

      Reply
  6. It’s so timely that I just stumbled onto your site from Made By You Monday. I had a “pizza sauce emergency” and needed to make some STAT and just threw some fresh tomatoes and a can of tomato paste in a pan with some seasonings and hoped for the best. It was fantastic and something I will totally do again. Last night, I wanted to make my own spaghetti sauce from the fresh tomatoes I grew. However, I didn’t want to use tomato paste and it never really thickened. It was more like tomato soup and I let it cook for 4 hours! If you use paste, it thickens much quicker. So, after always just using store bought sauce, I am totally making my own more often!!

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping by! Tomato paste is great as a thickener for tomato sauces. I didn’t have any on hand, so I was lucky I was only making a small amount of sauce. I’m sure this would take much longer to cook if I were making a larger quantity (in which case, I would have gone back to the store for some tomato paste).

      Reply
  7. This sauce sounds delicious! We love pizza so I’ll have to give this a try. I’ve never done a homemade tomato sauce before. I’d love to invite you to share this at Mom’s Test Meal Mondays. I’m also hosting a giveaway this week with 10 awesome prizes! I hope you can join the party!

    Jaime @ Mom’s Test Kitchen

    Reply
  8. Yum! I love that this uses fresh tomatoes! I am pinning this one for sure. Can’t wait to give it a try 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping by Erika! I always keep fresh tomatoes on hand. They were perfect for this sauce, though I’m sure it would work with canned tomatoes as well if that was the only thing available. Thanks for sharing the recipe on Pinterest!

      Reply
  9. This looks great. We use pizza sauce every weekend. I’ve always wanted to try making it myself. Thanks for sharing at Must Try Monday.

    Reply
  10. I love homemade sauces. Your’s looks great! I will definitely have to try this one day. Thanks for sharing on Marvelous Mondays! Please note, I changed my blog name from Jam’s Corner to This Gal Cooks. Same blog, different name. http://www.thisgalcooks.com I hope to see you at next week’s party!

    Reply
  1. Beach Day and Dinner at the Erie Beach Hotel « The Cook's Sister

Leave a Reply

