Dairy-Free Breakfast Crêpes with Banana Slices and Blueberries

Today’s my Nana’s birthday, Happy Birthday Nana!

Nana’s taught me much about cooking. We spent a lot of time together when I was growing up (and we still spend a lot of time together now). I have many fond memories of sitting in her kitchen, awaiting homemade goodies. Mac and Cheese Casserole is a family favourite, and I would often invite friends over to visit and enjoy a few servings of her casserole. In fact, friends still reminisce about her casserole and I will eventually get around to sharing the recipe.

Nana and I have dinner together at least once a month, sometimes more often than that. Now that I’m older, we cook together. I try to absorb as much knowledge as possible, learn her secrets and memorize family recipes.

Tonight, I’ll be cooking dinner for her and the rest of my family (my brother is starting training at a new job and won’t be home in time to help, but we’re glad he will be home for dinner nonetheless). Pressure’s on. I want the dinner to be perfect and to suit everyone’s taste preferences.

Last week, I cooked less often than usual. It’s not that things were busier, but I cooked a staple items that I’ve already shared on the blog (Peanut Butter and Banana Quesadillas) and others I though I had shared so I didn’t take photos (Shepherd’s Pie).  Guess I’ll have to make it again to share. Bryan won’t mind, it’s one of his very favourite dinner items. The shepherd’s pie, especially, made so many servings that I didn’t need to cook anything else, we ate leftovers often.

Realizing I didn’t have many photos to share, I took this as an opportunity to make a fancy Sunday morning breakfast that I could then share on Monday morning.

I came up with these crêpes by modifying my pancake recipe (which I will also share at some point), leaving out the baking powder and sugar and adding more egg. These crêpes are surprisingly quick to make and very simple to whip up. They also keep well in the fridge for one day if you somehow happen to have a few leftovers.

Dairy-Free Breakfast Crêpes with Banana Slices and Blueberries

Ingredients

  • 1 cup flour – approximate cost $0.50
  • 1 cup almond milk – approximate cost $1.00
  • 2 eggs – approximate cost $0.60
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla – approximate cost $0.15
  • Pinch of sea salt – approximate cost $0.05
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil – approximate cost $0.25
  • 1 banana, sliced – approximate cost $0.60
  • 1/2 cup blueberries – approximate cost $1.00

Method

  1. Combine the flour and seal salt in a small bowl.
  2. Combine the almond milk, eggs, and vanilla in a large mixing bowl.
  3. Whisk the wet ingredient mixture until the eggs are well combined.
  4. Whisk the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, slowly, to avoid lumps in the batter.
  5. Heat 1/4 of the tablespoon of olive oil in a frying pan.
  6. Pour 1/3 cup of batter into the frying pan.
  7. Swirl the batter quickly so it covers the pan in a thin, even layer.
  8. Cook until the batter begins to set.
  9. Flip the crêpe.
  10. Cook until slightly browned.
  11. Remove to a plate.
  12. Repeat steps  5-11 until all of the batter is cooked (makes 4-5 crêpes).
  13. Fill each crêpe with a few banana slices and some blueberries.
  14. Roll the crêpes.
  15. Serve and enjoy!

Makes 5 servings (approximate cost: $0.83 per serving).

Monday Link Parties

Photobucket

mop it up mondays

Mouthwatering Mondays

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Whenever you are in Belgium, and you ask for pancakes, you will get crêpes. Yours look tasty! A lovely picture of you & your beloved grand-mother! 😉 xxx

    Reply
    • Really? Do you not have the fluffy North American style pancakes? Or do they go by a different name?

      Thanks Sophie!

      Reply
  2. I say ‘Nana’ too! Happy birthday to your Nana! And lovely crepes!!! 😀

    Reply
  3. Happy Birthday to your Nana! What a great thing to be able to have such a relationship with your grandmother. Another great breakfast recipe! Love these crepes!

    Reply
  4. crepes are the best food in the world! thanks for sharing the dairy-free recipe.

    Reply
  5. Happy birthday to you Nana Amber, how wonderful that you can still enjoy time with her, these moments must be very precious. Pancakes in Hungary are most crêpe like as well, not the fluffy quick-bread style they serve in North America. I prefer the lighter versions anyway, they are less calories and are much more versatile.

    Reply
    • Thanks Eva! I also prefer crepes to fluffy pancakes… but my preference is more because I had a few pancakes that were still doughy in the center. Yuck! It’s hard to under-cook a crepe.

      Reply
  6. I absolutely love crepes! Thanks for sharing at Must Try Monday.

    Reply
  7. Marnee Banks

     /  December 30, 2012

    I have a gluten and dairy allergy but I made these crepes this morning – substituting the flour for gluten free flour, and the milk with coconut milk… they were incredibly good!

    Thanks so much!

    Reply
    • Thanks for your feedback Marnee! Coconut milk sounds like a great substitution for the almond milk if you can’t have that. Glad you enjoyed the crepes!

      Reply
  1. Trout with Almond Slices, Lemon, Butter, Parsley, Pepper, and Capers « The Cook's Sister
  2. Dairy Free Rice Pudding « The Cook's Sister
  3. Improv Challenge: Zucchini and Brown Sugar « The Cook's Sister

Leave a Reply

