Dairy Free Rice Pudding

First of all, a great big thank you to Cindy from Skip to My Lou who featured my  Spaghetti with Shrimp and Roasted Vegetables recipe!

I’m trying to get the school year off to a good start. I’ve updated my calendar with all of the important deadlines. And now I’m working on good eating and exercise habits. I hope to attend at least three yoga classes each week and, until it snows, I will continue to bike to as many places as possible. As for good eating habits, I’m trying to have a hearty breakfast to start each day and making large meals for dinner that can be enjoyed as leftovers for lunch the next day.

I’m not a huge fan of cereals. Most of them are too sweet for my liking and I find the texture of almond milk a bit strange when mixed with cereal. Instead, I rely on breakfast items that I can make a big batch of and reheat the leftovers  next day. Such as:

We ate quite a few of the breakfast quesadillas this week. I even let Bryan in the kitchen to make them for breakfast one day. However, I also tried out rice pudding made with almond milk (I usually make this with cow’s milk, but was out and wanted to try a diary free option). While my family frequently serves rice pudding as a dessert, I enjoy it very much as a breakfast food!

Dairy Free Rice Pudding

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Jasmine rice – approximate cost $0.50
  • 2 cups almond milk – approximate cost $1.50
  • 1/4 cup cane sugar – approximate cost $0.50
  • 1/2 cup raisins – approximate cost $0.75
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon – approximate cost $0.15
  • 1 egg – approximate cost $0.30
  • 1 cup water
  • Mint leaves for garnish (optional)

Method

  1. Add 1 cup almond milk and 1 cup water to a large pot and bring to a boil.
  2. Add Jasmine rice.
  3. Reduce heat to a simmer.
  4. Cook until rice is tender (about 15-20 minutes).
  5. Whisk remaining 1 cup of almond milk and egg in a bowl.
  6. Add can sugar, almond milk mixture, cinnamon, and raisins to the rice.
  7. Stir well.
  8. Allow to cool and serve either warm or cold!

Makes about 6 servings (approximate cost: $0.62 per serving).

Monday Link Parties

Photobucket

mop it up mondays


Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. This looks really good. Thanks for sharing at Must Try Monday.

    Reply
  2. Lovely composition of those tasty pictures!! 🙂 I love a good & tasty home-made DF rice pudding any time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

