Butter Chicken Inspired Burgers on Basmati Rice

I’ve been meaning to make these burgers since the summer. If you recall, I was making a lot of burgers including:

I took a short break from burger making. So we didn’t get sick of eating them (and so you didn’t get bored of reading about them). I was excited to finally get around to trying out this recipe. Because curry and burgers are both awesome… so they must go well together, right? I’ve been planning this recipe for months and was very excited for the opportunity to try it out.

While these burgers tasted amazing, I was disappointed that they were soft and fell apart easily during the cooking process.

Life’s been super busy since I went back to school. I’ve found myself cooking larger meals that we can eat for a few days. I feel like I’m running out of things to share. With Thanksgiving weekend coming up, I won’t be home to cook. We’ll be visiting my mom’s side of the family on Saturday and Sunday. My cousin is making cherry cheesecake, one of my favourite desserts! Monday, I’ll be having dinner at dad’s house. I’m in charge of making the pumpkin pie. In all the chaos of the holiday, I’ll try to grab a few pics to share. That said, I likely won’t be posting on Monday.

Hope all the Canadian readers have a fantastic Thanksgiving weekend! And a fantastic weekend to those not celebrating!

Butter Chicken Inspired Burgers on Basmati Rice

Ingredients

  • 1 red onion – approximate cost $0.75
  • 1 can tomatoes, drained – approximate cost $1.25
  • 4 medium-sized potatoes, diced – approximate cost $0.60
  • 1 pound ground chicken – approximate cost $4.50
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger – approximate cost $0.10
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder – approximate cost $0.05
  • 1/4 teaspoon cane sugar – approximate cost $0.05
  • 1/2 teaspoon garam masala – approximate cost $0.05
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin – approximate cost $0.05
  • 1/2 teaspoon coriander – approximate cost $0.05
  • 1 egg – approximate cost $0.30
  • 1/4 cup cashews – approximate cost $0.50
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt – approximate cost $0.05
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted – approximate cost $0.20
  • 1 teaspoon dried cilantro – approximate cost $0.20
  • 2 cups cooked Basmati rice – approximate cost $0.30

Method

  1. Boil the potatoes until tender.
  2. Combine the onion, tomatoes,  potatoes, ginger, chili powder, cane sugar, garam masala, cumin, coriander, cashews, sea salt, butter, and dried cilantro in a blender.
  3. Blend until smooth.
  4. Combine the ground chicken and egg in a mixing bowl.
  5. Work in 4 tablespoons of the blended sauce until chicken is well-coated.
  6. Divide the chicken into 4 portions.
  7. Form each portion into a burger patty.
  8. Move the blended mixture into a pot and cook on medium heat until heated through.
  9. Cook the burger patties until cooked through (I cooked mine in a frying pan).
  10. Heat the remaining sauce in a saucepan.
  11. Serve burger over cooked Basmati rice and top with curry sauce.

Makes 4 servings (approximate cost: $2.24 per serving).

Wednesday Link Parties

Cast Party Wednesday

White Lights on Wednesdays

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. A stunning creation which I must make soon! It surely looks freaking delicious!!!
    Also a huge thanks for the lovely Blog award & it was fun reading more about you! xxx

    Reply
  2. Oh Yum! What a healthy and tasty burger! Love all of those wonderful spices!

    Reply
    • Thanks MJ! Lots of spices, but not a lot of heat. I’m sure adding some hot peppers wouldn’t hurt if you prefer spicy hot foods!

      Reply
  3. i’m sorry they fell apart a bit on you – still though, they look fantastic! hope your weekend was stellar 🙂

    thank you for sharing your post with us at the Wednesday Fresh Foods Link Up! I hope we’ll see you again this week with more amazing seasonal & real food posts. xo, kristy.

    Reply
    • Thanks Kristy! This was the one that worked out. The others weren’t so pretty. Glad you enjoyed the recipe!

      Reply
  4. My kind of chicken dish! Love the spices you used and addition of cashews to the recipe. Thanks so much for sharing with us on Allergy-Free Wednesdays!

    Reply
  5. Even though I won’t be having turkey this weekend, I’ll still be getting together with the family for dinner at my parents for some great roast and lot’s of yummy sides. We tried the turkey thing before, but being a small family too much went to waste.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

