Reblogged from one of the academic blogs I’m writing for this term.

Food seems to have a strong link to memory. Why, then, do Alzheimer and dementia patients lose the ability to cook so soon after diagnosis?

Stop by and discuss your thoughts!

mnenotech

This morning, I came across a cookbook review of Barbara Magro’s Recipes to Remember: My Epicurean Journey to Preserving my Mother’s Italian Cooking from Memory Loss. What struck me most about the review is Kristen’s musing:

“Did you know that cooking is one of the first abilities that goes when Alzheimer’s or dementia sets in?  The victims can no longer remember whether or not they have added ingredients or how long the food has been in the oven” (Kristen).

No, in fact, I didn’t know that cooking is one of the first abilities that one loses when Alzheimer’s or dementia sets in. Why does this strike me so? Because I love to cook (and keep a casual food blog). Because I spend some of my free time learning to cook traditional family recipes from my grandparents. Because I know that their memory is inevitably failing as they age…

View original post 523 more words

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

