Improv Challenge: Chocolate and Marshmallows

It’s been way too long! It’s hard to believe it’s been an entire month since I posted. But I’m back, and ready to take on blogging once again! Over the last month I’ve been swamped with school work. Between essays, projects and presentations, the deadlines kept me busy. However, I’m glad to have made it through my first term as a PhD student and can’t wait to start all over again after the holiday!

That said, what better way to get back into blogging than participating in the Improv Challenge hosted by Kristen from Frugal Antics of a Harried Homemaker?! I was disappointed to miss a few months of the challenge, but happy to be participating today. So far, I’ve shared:

This month, the challenge ingredients are chocolate and marshmallows. Yum!

I wasn’t going to have an evening at home to prepare my recipe, so, last night I enlisted the help from my friend’s 4-year-old (who I was babysitting). That is, I made making a delicious dessert using chocolate and marshmallows our activity for the evening. And it went over surprisingly well! The little one was super excited to help me cook, loved decorating his own dessert, and devoured the tasty treat just before bedtime. It made a great activity!

What did we make? Crispy rice squares!

Crispy Rice Squares with Chocolate Sauce

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup butter – approximate cost $0.50
  • 4 cups mini marshmallows – approximate cost $0.90
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla – approximate cost $0.10
  • 6 cups crispy rice cereal – approximate cost $1.60
  • Chocolate sauce for decorating – approximate cost $0.50
  • Chocolate and Rainbow sprinkles for decorating (optional) – approximate cost $0.30

Method

  1. Melt the butter in a large, non-stick pot.
  2. Add the marshmallows, stirring constantly until melted.
  3. Remove from heat.
  4. Add the vanilla.
  5. Continue stirring.
  6. Add the cereal, 1 cup at a time, and stirring constantly until well-coated in marshmallows.
  7. Place in a 9×13 baking pan
  8. Cover with a piece of waxed paper.
  9. Press the cereal mixture into an even layer that is the shape of the baking pan.
  10. Remove waxed paper.
  11. Decorate with chocolate sauce (and other edible treats such as chocolate or rainbow sprinkles).
  12. Place in the refrigerator for at least 1 hour to set.
  13. Slice and enjoy!

Makes one 9 x 13 tray of crispy rice treats, about 12 servings (approximate cost: $3.90 or $0.33 per serving).



Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. I am glad that the Improv was lure enough to bring you back to your blog! Those treats look like a fun activity for kids. What a masterpiece!

    Reply
    • Thanks Kristen! The intention was always to start blogging again after my break, but the Improv Challenge definitely gave me a push in the right direction! Thanks for hosting yet again!

      Reply
  2. You can never go wrong with rice krispie treats! I’m completely addicted to all types and that chocolate drizzle on yours sounds amazing.

    Reply
    • Thanks Kate! Can’t go wrong, that’s for sure! They were really nice to share with family and friends (couldn’t eat them all myself).

      Reply
  3. Cool idea to get your friend’s 4 year old involved. They are never too young to start enjoying time in the kitchen.

    Reply
  4. Mmmmmmm. Rice crispy squares! You can’t go wrong.

    Reply
  5. Oh, boy, do I love Rice Krispy Treats! And I bet you are the new favorite babysitter 🙂

    Reply
    • I think so. 🙂 We had a blast! Now I have to think of something else fun we can do together.

      Reply
  6. What a glorious & tasty creation! It looks splendid & great to enjoy too! 🙂 MMMM!

    Reply
  1. Improv Challenge: Bananas and Nutmeg « The Cook's Sister
  2. Piparkakut (Finnish Gingerbread) Cookies | The Cook's Sister
  3. Improv Challenge: Shepherd’s Pie | The Cook's Sister
  4. Improv Challenge: Cinnamon and Sugar (Strawberry Cobbler) | The Cook's Sister
  5. Improv Challenge: Fish and Chips (Fried Fish-Shaped Chips) | The Cook's Sister
  6. Improv Challenge: Peaches and Herbs (Pork Chops with a Peach and Sage Glaze) | The Cook's Sister

Leave a Reply

