The Appetizer: Deviled Eggs

For the appetizer, I stuck to something simple: Deviled Eggs! I remember this being one of my favourite snacks at holiday parties but hadn’t made them myself since I was a child. Even then, I don’t recall how much mom allowed me to “help.” I decided to make them based off of what I remembered of mom’s recipe and adding anything that seemed like it might go well.

In retrospect, I should have made a test batch. I really didn’t know what I was doing (despite this being a quick and easy appetizer). I got lucky that the appetizer turned out well. It probably could have been a bit prettier with a bit more practice. But all in all, it turned out well.

Bryan and I loved it. Our guest, as I found out, is not a fan of deviled eggs. I had sent out an email ahead of time asking about allergies, but had forgot to address preferences. Oops! I felt a bit bad that W could not partake in the appetizer, but knew there was plenty of food coming and worked as quickly as possible to get the rest of dinner ready. He was very polite about the situation and we were happy to keep the leftovers as snacks over the next few days.

Have you ever hosted a party where you accidentally make a dish your guests don’t like? How did you handle the situation?

Deviled Eggs

Ingredients

  • 12 eggs – approximate cost $3.00
  • 2 tablespoons dijon mustard – approximate cost $0.20
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise – approximate cost $0.50
  • 2 green onions, sliced – approximate cost $0.20
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt – approximate cost $0.05
  • 1 teaspoon paprika – approximate cost $0.10
  • 1 tablespoon vinegar – approximate cost $0.05

Method

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil.
  2. Add vinegar.
  3. Add eggs, gently, one at a time.
  4. Boil eggs until cooked through (about 12-15 minutes).
  5. Remove eggs from water and allow to cool.
  6. Crack and peel the egg shells, discard.
  7. Slice the eggs in half lengthwise.
  8. Scoop out the yolk and place in a mixing bowl.
  9. Add dijon mustard, mayonnaise, green onion slices, and sea salt to the mixing bowl.
  10. Use a fork to mix the ingredients until smooth.
  11. Move yolk mixture to a plastic zip-bag.
  12. Cut a small piece from the corner of the bag.
  13. Pipe the yolk mixture into the hallow egg white pieces.
  14. Arrange on a platter.
  15. Sprinkle with paprika.
  16. Serve and enjoy!

Makes 24 servings (approximate cost: $0.17 per serving).

Monday Link Parties

mop it up mondays

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. We love deviled eggs too, I usually make mine with small eggs, if I can find them, much easier to pop into one’s mouth. Recently I found quail’s eggs and can hardly wait to make deviled eggs out of them! So adorable.

    Reply
    • Oh, what a great idea! I will try that next time. They were definitely too big to be a one-bite treat as I had planned. Quail’s eggs sounds interesting, can’t wait to see your recipe as well!

      Reply
  2. I’m terrible for brining something that someone at the party can’t. Cheese loaded dip for my lactose intolerant friend. Pull apart bread for some one with a gluten sensitivity. It never fails. Fortunately, they have always been understanding.
    You’re devilled eggs look great!

    Reply
    • Thanks Mel! I know… it’s so hard to accommodate dietary sensitivities and preferences when feeding a group! Many of my friends are vegetarian or vegan, so I’ve had to learn lots about how to accommodate this with potluck dishes.

      Reply
  3. I’m getting a dozen free range eggs from a friend tomorrow and I might just have to make a few of these eggs. I love deviled eggs and haven’t made them in ages. You have me craving them! Happy New Year my friend!!!

    Reply
  1. Side Dish: Roasted Potatoes with Fresh Thyme « The Cook's Sister

Leave a Reply

