Side Dish: Roasted Potatoes with Fresh Thyme

I tried to keep our Thanksgiving dinner relatively simple, prepping some everyday foods, like these roasted potatoes, with a few fancier items.

The majority of the dinner was prepped the night before so I could simply put the food in the oven when I got home from work and entertain instead.

Last week, I shared the Deviled Eggs appetizer (which was all prepped the evening before, and the yolk mix was piped into the eggs moments before serving). Delicious, but our guest was not a fan. Not a complete disaster though, because Bryan loved these deviled eggs and was more than happy to eat the leftovers as a snack for the next few days. And there was still more than enough food, No one would go home hungry.

This week, I’m sharing another dish that was a near disaster… the roasted potatoes. I make roasted potatoes at least once a week. I change up the herbs and spices frequently. However, it’s safe to say that roasted potatoes are a staple around here. How could I mess up something that I make so often you ask? Well… it was my need to prepare everything the day before that almost made me panic (ok, I panicked, but only briefly).

When I pulled my prepped potatoes out of the fridge to pop into the oven, they had turned a bluish-black colour! They looked terrible and I was sure that they had somehow gone rotten in the time since I sliced them to the time I wanted to cook them. I didn’t have any extra potatoes left in the fridge and our guest had already arrived. I thought I was going to have to toss out this side dish. I wanted to cry. Instead, I searched the Internet to see if I could salvage my side dish. Good thing I looked around for an answer because sites such as e-How let me know that this happens, how to avoid it, that it’s still safe to eat the potatoes, and that the unappetizing colour will fade with cooking. Phew! Disaster avoided.

While everything turned out alright, I wouldn’t repeat this time-saver. Slicing potatoes doesn’t take all that long and the black colour didn’t fade from all of the potatoes, so in the future I won’t prep roasted potatoes ahead of time, I’ll slice them and toss them in the oven immediately. I wasted much more time looking for answers on the Internet about the potato situation than I had saved by prepping the dish.

Roasted Potatoes with Fresh Thyme

Ingredients

  • 9 small red potatoes – approximate cost $1.50
  • 2 tablespoons fresh thyme – approximate cost $0.40
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt – approximate cost $0.05
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper – approximate cost $0.10
  • 1 tablespoon grapeseed oil – approximate cost $0.10

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Wash the potatoes.
  3. Cut the potatoes into quarters (or bite-sized pieces).
  4. Mince the fresh thyme.
  5. Combine the potato slices, thyme, sea salt, black pepper, and grapeseed oil in a baking dish.
  6. Toss the potatoes until well coated in the oil and spices.
  7. Bake for about 40 minutes (or until tender when pierced with a fork), turning occasionally so all sides are crispy.

Makes 3 servings (approximate cost: $0.72 per serving).

Monday Link Parties

mop it up mondays

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Tim! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. Potatoes are one if those vegetables that oxidizes, hence the bluish colour. If you prepare them in advance again, don’t cube them until you’re ready to bake and either keep them in water in the fridge (although the water might soak into the tators) or just give them a quick dip into lemon juice. Glad it worked out in the end.

    Reply
    • A lesson learned indeed! Are there any other vegetable you know of that oxidize? So I can avoid disaster whenever possible. 🙂

      Reply
  3. I love roasted potatoes! These look delicious and I’m curious about the taste of grapeseed oil. I’ve never used it. My standby is olive oil and I think it’s time for a change. thanks!

    Reply
    • Grapeseed oil is very light in flavour. It has a higher smoking point than many olive oils, which is why I recently started using the grapeseed oil.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

