Improv Challenge: Bananas and Nutmeg (Fried Bananas with Brown Sugar Sauce)

I’m excited to once again be participating in the Improv Challenge hosted by Kristen from Frugal Antics of a Harried Homemaker! This month, the challenge ingredients are bananas and nutmeg. Yum! So far, I’ve shared:

Today, I’m sharing a recipe that my dad used to make for me when I was younger. I’ve been trying for years to replicate his recipe but, for some reason, even though I started out using the same ingredients it’s just never the same… so I changed things up a bit and made it my own (Dad leaves out the nutmeg and the vanilla).

Fried Bananas with Brown Sugar Sauce

Ingredients

  • 2 bananas – approximate cost $0.50
  • 2 heaping tablespoons brown sugar – approximate cost $0.20
  • 1/4 cup butter – approximate cost $0.50
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg – approximate cost $0.15
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon – approximate cost $0.15
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla – approximate cost $0.20

Method

  1. Slice the banana in half lengthwise and then horizontally (you should have four long and thin pieces).
  2. Melt half of the butter (1/8 cup) in a frying pan over medium heat.
  3. Add the banana slices to the frying pan.
  4. Cook until the banana begins to turn golden brown.
  5. Flip and cook until the banana begins to turn golden brown.
  6. Remove to a plate.
  7. Add the remaining butter, and brown sugar.
  8. Cook until sugar is melted.
  9. Remove from heat and add vanilla to sauce.
  10. Stir well.
  11. Pour sauce over fried banana pieces.
  12. Sprinkle with nutmeg and cinnamon.
  13. Serve immediately and enjoy!

Makes 2 servings (approximate cost: $0.85 per serving).



Leave a comment

35 Comments

  1. What a versatile dish! I can see that being served on ice cream or cake and my family would love it!

    Reply
    • Thanks Kristen! Great idea… I’ll have to try this with a scoop of ice cream sometime! I’ve always enjoyed it on its own.

      Reply
  2. I agree with Kristen! I think with a scoop of ice cream I might be tempted to change my banana hating ways! Looks great Amber!

    Reply
  3. That is such a typical ‘Dad’ dessert. I love how you freshened up the recipe with vanilla and nutmeg. Add a little crème fraiche and I’d be all over it.

    Reply
    • Thanks Eva! My dad also makes baked apples… using pretty much the same ingredients. I like the ‘Dad’ desserts… simple!

      Reply
  4. YUM! Now this is the way to really enjoy bananas!!! I’ll have mine with a scoop of vanilla, please 🙂

    Reply
  5. Amber, glad you could use a recipe that brought back good memories for you. Banana and a sweet sauce sounds like a yummy combination.

    Thanks for checking out my Breakfast Cookies.

    Reply
    • You’re welcome Robyn, and thanks for stopping by! A lot of my cooking is inspired by my family. I really like when blogging challenges, such as the Improv Challenge, allow me to feature such foods.

      Reply
  6. Yummmm! What a clver & tasty recipe! It looks really tasty too! 🙂 Yum!

    Reply
  7. Yum! Looks great.

    Reply
  8. Perfection in their simplicity! Love these bananas. I also love recipes that bring fond memories 🙂 Lovely!

    Reply
  9. Sometimes the best recipes are the simplest. Love that your dad made these for you when you were a kid – what a sweet memory (that now we all benefit from!)

    Reply
  10. Bet that your Dad would love your version, looks wonderful.

    My Improv Cooking Challenge entry this month: Baked Bananas, hope that you’ll stop over and check the recipe out.

    Lisa~~

    Reply
    • Thanks Lisa! When I’m home, Dad rarely lets me do the cooking, but I think he might like my version as well… I’ll have to bug him to let me make it some day.

      Reply
  11. As my nana would say, JUST LOVELY! I can almost smell the wonderful aromas coming from my computer screen!

    Reply
  12. mjskit

     /  January 20, 2013

    I would love a plate of these for breakfast in the morning! Delicious!

    Reply
    • Thanks MJ! They are a yummy, albeit very sweet, breakfast treat, and really quick to make for a weekday breakfast.

      Reply
  13. This presentation is so versatile, it could be breakfast, a snack or dessert. Thank you so much for sharing it and the estimated cost (a great touch!).

    I’d love to have you take a look at my banana daquiri muffins. They were also very economical and went a long way with the mini size.

    Reply
  14. Simple, but tasty! My kind of recipe.
    Mimi

    Reply
  15. Megan

     /  September 19, 2013

    Mmmm I just made this. But I think I burned the sauce, any tips on to how I should so that without burning it lol

    Reply
  1. Piparkakut (Finnish Gingerbread) Cookies | The Cook's Sister
  2. Improv Challenge: Shepherd’s Pie | The Cook's Sister
  3. Improv Challenge: Cinnamon and Sugar (Strawberry Cobbler) | The Cook's Sister
  4. Improv Challenge: Fish and Chips (Fried Fish-Shaped Chips) | The Cook's Sister
  5. Improv Challenge: Peaches and Herbs (Pork Chops with a Peach and Sage Glaze) | The Cook's Sister

Leave a Reply

