Venison Stew

Over the last month, there have been many new additions to my little kitchen that I’ve been waiting to share with you.

We got a few new plates for Christmas! We broke a few dinner plates over the last year. We had three plates left around October. I began to worry how we were going to have friends over for meals if we didn’t even own enough plates to eat said dinner on. I love having a full set again, even if they aren’t an exact match.

I also got a lovely, pre-seasoned, cast iron dutch oven as a Christmas gift. Actually, it’s what I used to cook this lovely stew. I love it as well! I’ve read through the instruction manual and am fairly confident I will be able to take care of it. Any tips for maintaining cast iron cookware?

Finally, I splurged after the holiday… but it’s totally worth it! A department store in the area is going out of business (actually, I think the final day was over the weekend). I went in looking for a potato masher. And once I found this small appliance, I completely forgot about the potato masher and contemplated a bigger purchase… a KitchenAid Stand Mixer! The pros: It was half price and worked. The cons: No package or instruction manual and there’s a missing screw, so the KitchenAid decal does not fasten to the front of the mixer. I’m pretty excited about this purchase and have already used it to make breakfast (potato pancakes) and am planning some banana bread for later this week.

Venison Stew

Ingredients

  • 2 teaspoons grapeseed oil, divided – approximate cost $0.10
  • 220 grams (about 1/2 pound) bacon, chopped – approximate cost $3.00
  • 575 grams (about 1 1/4 pounds) venison stewing meat (chopped into approximately 1/2 inch cubes) – approximate cost $12.00
  • 5 small carrots, chopped into bite-sized pieces – approximate cost $2.00
  • 1 large sweet onions, roughly chopped – approximate cost $0.75
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced – approximate cost $0.75
  • 220 grams (about 1/2 pound) crimini mushrooms, quartered – approximate cost $2.50
  • 2 cups red wine (I used Catastrophe Red, made by Cattail Creek Winery) – approximate cost $6.00
  • 4 cups beef broth – approximate cost $2.00
  • 1 tablespoon dried rosemary – approximate cost $0.10
  • 1 tablespoon dried thyme – approximate cost $0.10
  • 1 156ml can of tomato paste – approximate cost $0.60
  • 8 small potatoes, quartered (I used Klondike Gold Dust potatoes) – approximate cost $1.50
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt – approximate cost $0.05

Method

  1. Preheat a large pot over medium-high heat.
  2. Add the bacon and cook until crispy.
  3. Remove and set aside.
  4. Brown the venison meat
  5. Remove and set aside.
  6. Heat 1 teaspoon of grapeseed oil in a large pot.
  7. Add the onions and cook until they begin to soften and brown (about 5-7 minutes).
  8. Add the garlic and cook until fragrant (about 1 minute).
  9. Add the mushrooms and cook until browned (about 5 minutes).
  10. Add the bacon and venison back into the pot.
  11. Mix well.
  12. Add the carrots and mix in.
  13. Add the red wine, beef broth, rosemary, and thyme.
  14. Reduce the heat to medium-low.
  15. Cover and cook for at least 2 hours.
  16. Prepare the potatoes about half way through cooking the stew.
    1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.
    2. Place the potato pieces in baking dish.
    3. Toss potatoes with 1 teaspoon of grapeseed oil and salt.
    4. Roast for about 40 minutes (or until potatoes are browned and tender).
  17. Stir the tomato paste into the stew, stirring constantly until it is mixed in.
  18. Add the potatoes and mix well.
  19. Serve immediately and enjoy!

Makes about 6 servings (approximate cost: $5.24 per serving).

Wednesday Link Parties

Cast Party Wednesday

White Lights on Wednesdays

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Oh I’m so jealous that you can even find venison! It’s easier for me to find bison. My dad was a deer hunter, so as a kid we ate a lot of venison. Your stew looks delicious and has me craving it! I can smell it and it’s driving me crazy!! Love all of your new kitchen additions! You’re going to love the Dutch oven! Just be sure not to use soap to clean it. I scrub mine down with hot water and then place on the stovetop on a burner set at medium until the pot starts to smoke. The heat will dry it as well as burn off any remaining “stuff”. Looks like you are fixing to have some fun with your mixer!

    Reply
    • Thanks for the very helpful tips MJ! I’m making sure that I rise my dishcloth well before washing the dutch oven (to make sure there is no soap residue).

      Venison isn’t very common around here either. A local butcher shop special ordered it for a customer and I snatched up some of what they didn’t buy. It was a good call. We loved it!

      Reply
  2. It looks like you really cleaned up at Christmas! I adore cast iron, several years ago we switched out all our pans to the cast iron! The only advice is never to let it sit in water, dry it immediately (we usually turn the oven on for 5 minutes and turn it off, put the pot/pan in and let it dry. When it’s cool, you can put it away. One more thing, don’t cook with an acid (just as vinegar, or even balsamic vinegar) as it will strip the seasoning off.
    What a nice stew for such a dreary day…they are predicting 30-40 cm of snow today. 😦

    Reply
    • Thanks for the advice Eva! I wouldn’t have known to avoid cooking with an acid. Noted! (And so far, I’ve been diligent about keeping it dry).

      Unfortunately, we have finished off the last of the stew and don’t have any leftovers to get us through this predicted snowstorm. Guess I’ll just have to make another stew. 🙂

      Reply
  3. We always have game in the freezer, and I will certainly put this on the list to try! Mr. Ginge is a big red wine fan, so this is right up his alley.
    I got an enamel coated cast iron dutch oven last year for Christmas, and I love it to death and It’s almost always the first pan I go to!
    Congrats on the mixer! I absolutely love mine to death! When I first got it, I would run in to the kitchen turn it on for a few seconds just to see it spin. Then hear Mr. Ginge laughing at me from the other room.

    Reply
  4. i,m a big fans of venison deer too,
    but unfortunately venison is rare and preety much more expensive than regular beef..
    Your recipes look very deliciuose, gonna try that for sure
    i’ve been posted some of venison recipes
    http://dentistvschef.wordpress.com/category/resep-rusa-venison/

    Reply
  5. ooooh i love venison. so meaty. so delicious. and cooked up in your fabulous dutch oven – so jealous!!! i want one. badly.

    i use cast iron for pan frying a lot. i have 2 pans that i LOVE love LOVE! it’s important to make sure you don’t put soap in it – just wipe out well. also, remember to reseason it when the time comes 🙂

    thanks for sharing with us at the wednesday fresh foods link up. i look forward to seeing what other seasonal & real/whole food posts you have for us next week!! xo, kristy

    Reply
  6. The stew looks so delish! We don’t get venison here though.

    Reply
  1. Second Blogiversary | The Cook's Sister

Leave a Reply

