Improv Challenge: Cinnamon and Sugar (Strawberry Cobbler)

Once again I find myself thinking… it’s been way too long since I’ve posted on my blog! Last post, I had just made it through the exam season. Since then, I’ve been quite busy as usual.

I took a short vacation to visit one of my very best friends and her family in Northern Ontario. I spent 3 wonderful days visiting and relaxing. The time out of the city was much needed.

Waterfall in South River

Waterfall in South River

We made a day-trip to Pickerel River where H’s aunt and uncle own a lovely cottage. It had been about 10 years since my last visit. As children, we visited for a week most summers, not a whole lot has changed (except they finished building the house). We even fit in a short kayaking trip! I wish I had been brave enough to bring my camera along, the was a waterfall down the river that was still frozen.

Pickerel River

Pickerel River

A beaver swimming in the Pickerel River

A beaver swimming in the Pickerel River

I have to admit I didn’t really want to come home. Don’t get me wrong, I missed Bryan and Loki. And I was looking forward to starting my summer classes. But a full week away would have been nice. πŸ™‚

I’m excited to once again be participating in the Improv Challenge hosted by Kristen from Frugal Antics of a Harried Homemaker! This month, the challenge ingredients are cinnamon and sugar. So far, I’ve shared:

This month, my dish is inspired by my trip up north. When we visited Pickerel River, H’s mom made a lovely peach cobbler that we took along for dessert. For the challenge, I made a Strawberry Cobbler!

Strawberry Cobbler

Inspired by S’s Peach Cobbler

Ingredients

Fruit Filling

  • 1/2 cup brown sugar β€“ approximate cost $0.25
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch β€“ approximate cost $0.10
  • 1 cup COLD water
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice β€“ approximate cost $0.20
  • 3 cups sliced strawberries β€“ approximate cost $2.00
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon β€“ approximate cost $0.10

Topping

  • 1 cup flour β€“ approximate cost $0.40
  • 1 tablespoon cane sugar β€“ approximate cost $0.10
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder β€“ approximate cost $0.10
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt β€“ approximate cost $0.05
  • 1/2 cup whole milk β€“ approximate cost $0.50
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 3 tablespoons butter, divided into 6 β€“ approximate cost $0.30

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Prepare the fruit filling.
    1. Combine the cornstarch and cold water in a cup.
    2. Mix well.
    3. Add cornstarch mixture and brown sugar to a sauce pot.
    4. Cook over medium heat until thickened and sugar is dissolved.
    5. Remove from heat.
    6. Add lemon juice.
    7. Add strawberries.
    8. Pour into a 9×13 baking dish.
    9. Sprinkle with cinnamon.
  3. Prepare the topping.
    1. Combine flour, cane sugar, baking powder, and sea salt in a large mixing bowl.
    2. Add milk, stirring constantly.
    3. Add water, stirring until well-mixed (no dry flour).
  4. Spoon the topping over the fruit (leaving it in dumpling shapes).
  5. Dot each dumpling with butter.
  6. Bake the cobbler for about 25 minutes (or until topping is cooked through and golden brown).
  7. Cool slightly.
  8. Serve warm and enjoy!

Makes 6 servings (approximate cost: $0.60 per serving).



Leave a comment

44 Comments

  1. Sounds fabulous! Would be so good with some vanilla ice cream.

    Reply
  2. Oooooooh! My grandma used to make cobbler just like this! mmmmmmmmmm — good memories!

    Reply
    • Thanks Melody! Glad I could bring up some good memories of your grandmother’s cooking! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. Cobblers are one of my favorite desserts…great choice for the challenge! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. Looks tasty!

    Reply
  5. theninjabaker

     /  May 16, 2013

    Yum! Your strawberry cobbler looks like the perfect dessert after getting a chill by the river. Thank you for sharing your recipe and great pix of Northern Ontario, Amber =)

    Reply
    • Thanks! It was actually a very warm day for May. I even got about knee deep in the water!

      Reply
  6. Oh what a beautiful cobbler! I haven’t had cobbler in a long time. That topping is so perfect to sop up the juicy strawberries! And boy…you sure did vacation in a beautiful spot! Your photos are lovely! : )

    Reply
    • Thanks Anne! This is the second cobbler I’ve made on my own (the first one was burned). I’m pretty proud of it considering I don’t bake often!

      Reply
  7. Your cobbler looks terrific, Amber! Perfect spring recipe. Glad you got away from the city for a little R & R πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. A strawberry cobbler sounds so good. It’s perfect for this time of year.

    Reply
  9. This sounds so heavenly! Great idea for this challenge!

    Reply
  10. I have never had strawberry cobbler before, but this looks great. With some whipped cream on top? Yummm. Beautiful lake!

    Reply
    • Thanks Karen! Strawberries are one of my very favourite fruits, so I almost always have them on hand for smoothies, breakfast, desserts, etc. I was going to make a peach cobbler… but decided strawberries sounded like more fun. πŸ˜€

      Reply
  11. Looks delicious and Just in time for strawberry season.
    Mimi

    Reply
    • Thanks Mimi! I can’t wait for strawberry season! We usually get fresh Ontario strawberries within the next few weeks… can’t wait!

      Reply
  12. Your cobbler looks wonderful! I didn’t participate this time around but will have to go by and check out all the entries!

    Reply
    • Thanks Terry! So glad that you made time to stop by. Hope you get a chance to participate next month!

      Reply
  13. Our weather is much much nicer now, and the foliage is in full bloom. The weather man is predicting nice weather for our first β€˜summer’ long weekend (Monday is Victoria Day and a Statutory Holiday). And it’s also our 27th Wedding Anniversary! Yes indeed, I was a child bride. Hope you have a wonderful weekend. We’re heading up north to our cottage so I’m not sure how much blogging I will be doing.
    I’m waiting for Ontario strawberries and you can bet as soon as they hit my farmer’s market I will be making all things strawberry. The cobbler looks wonderful, perhaps this too shall make it on the list.

    Reply
    • Thanks Eva! I too can’t wait for fresh Ontario strawberries. πŸ™‚ My first few quarts don’t make it to the kitchen. We usually wash and enjoy them!

      Reply
  14. What a perfect recipe for cinnamon and strawberry season! Thanks for participating in the Monthly Improv Challenge!

    Reply
  15. This is a great recipe. The ImprovChallenge is fun. I’m glad you participated. You should bring this over to What’d You Do This Weekend at Tumbleweed Contessa.

    Teats dishes from my kitchen,

    Linda

    Reply
  16. That’s Tasty dishes from my kitchen. I can bake, but not type!,

    Linda

    Reply
  17. Love the scenery photos! But that cobbler!!!! Mamma mia! Oh my word it looks delish!

    Reply
    • Thanks Tiffany! I can’t wait to make this again when strawberries are in season… πŸ˜€

      Reply
  18. I would love a bowl of this cobbler right now! Cobbler is my favorite dessert so I could probably eat that whole pan!. Your picture of the Pickerel River – now that’s a river! Beautiful!

    Reply
    • Thanks MJ! We don’t often make desserts, so this cobbler was a treat! It wasn’t overly sweet… so I had the leftovers for breakfast. πŸ™‚ Glad you enjoyed the photos of the river! If you’re ever in Northern Ontario, the Pickerel River is a fantastic place to visit, very peaceful and relaxing!

      Reply
  19. This dish looks so homey and comforting. I love fruit crisps and cobblers. πŸ™‚ Perfect for a trip to a place from your childhood πŸ™‚

    Reply
  20. Sounds like a well deserved trip. I’ve never had strawberry cobbler before – it looks delicious!

    Reply
    • Thanks! I think I might prefer peach cobbler… But it was a refreshing change!

      Reply
  21. What a wonderful get-away from it all! The surroundings look cool & lovely! This strawberry cobbler looks amazing!!! A must make! x

    Reply
  1. Bryan’s Step-Father’s Red Chile and Enchilada Casserole | The Cook's Sister
  2. Improv Challenge: Fish and Chips (Fried Fish-Shaped Chips) | The Cook's Sister
  3. Improv Challenge: Peaches and Herbs (Pork Chops with a Peach and Sage Glaze) | The Cook's Sister

Leave a Reply

