Second Blogiversary

Ack! I missed my blog’s Second Blogiversary. So, I’ll celebrate it a bit late. June 4, 2013 was the second blogiversary of The Cook’s Sister. For my first blogiversary, I shared my favourite blog posts.

What’s changed since then? A lot! The biggest difference, I hope, is my blogging style. I’ve become more comfortable with the blog format and with sharing my personal stories to accompany each recipe. In fact, back in April my blogging mentor, Jeanette from This Dusty House left me this wonderful and inspiring comment on my Nana’s Macaroni and Cheese recipe:

“I think this is my favourite of all your posts so far. A wonderful walk down your memory lane!”

Through blogging, I find that we have more meals at home because I’m excited to cook, photograph, and share my creations. While the food isn’t always healthy, there is a good balance. And while my goal is to be frugal, I’ve learned that splurging on a few items that seem pricier doesn’t always break the bank (and if it is just flat-out expensive, it’s usually cooked for an occasion, in which case staying home for an “expensive” meal is generally still more affordable than eating out).

While I haven’t met all of my goals — one of which is to keep up a regular blogging schedule — I’ve accomplished so many of my blogging goals. I’ve written guest posts (for Ginger Bakes and Lady Behind the Curtain) and received a guest post from Ginger Bakes. I also found time to read and review a cookbook: Kitchenability 101: The College Student’s Guide to Easy, Healthy and Delicious Food, by Nisa Burns.

I’ve learned not to be too hard on myself when I don’t have time to accomplish everything I want to on this blog. It is, after all, my hobby. It should be enjoyable!

Here are my favourite posts from the last year!

Arctic Char Meunière from Relish Cooking Studio

Hanger Steak with Homemade Steak Sauce

No Bake Cherry Cheesecake

Green Chile Pepper and Tomato Soup

Spaghetti with Shrimp and Roasted Vegetables

Venison Stew

Piparkakut (Finnish Gingerbread) Cookies

Lobster and Egg Served Over a Potato Pancake

Nana’s Macaroni and Cheese Casserole

Bryan’s Step-Father’s Red Chile Enchilada Casserole

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Congratulations! Love your blog, your style and your food!

    Reply
  2. Congratulations on your milestone!!! Glad to be a part of it :D!

    Reply
  3. Happy anniversary! That round-up is a great way to celebrate. So many tasty recipes.

    Reply
  4. Happy blogiversary! Don’t feel too bad… I think I missed my blogiversary this year too. And our housiversary. Thankfully, not our anniversary!

    Reply
  5. Congratulations and happy blogging for Year 3

    Reply
  6. mjskit

     /  June 23, 2013

    Happy Second Blogiversary my dear! Love your round up of where you have been and what you have made for us. Can’t wait to see what you’ll be dishing up this year.

    Reply
  7. Congrats, Amber !I Really digg & love your blog, your personality & tasty recipes too! Cheers! xxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

