Improv Challenge: Fish and Chips (Fried Fish-Shaped Chips)

I’m excited to once again be participating in the Improv Challenge hosted by Kristen from Frugal Antics of a Harried Homemaker! This month, the challenge ingredients are fish and chips.

Sounds a bit limiting as challenge ingredients, doesn’t it? My initial plan was to make a traditional fish with a beer batter and chips. Then… Kristen sent out the update, making this challenge a bit more interesting!

“Fish can, of course, be any real fish like tuna, snapper, salmon, tilapia or trout, but you can also use Swedish fish, or any fishy crackers/pretzels or fish shaped bread from Pepperidge Farm. Chips can also be the traditional homemade thick cut fries, but feel free to use anything that is a chip: potato, tortilla, sweet potato, veggie, chocolate, butterscotch, etc.”

This opened up so many more possibilities! This month, I decided to go with something simple yet fun. I played with the idea of fish-shaped food… and because the second half of this challenge was to include chips… I made fish-shaped chips! This is a great way to change up your every-day chips.  And I’m sure these chips would be a fun activity if you have children helping you in the kitchen.

Fried Fish-Shaped Chips

Ingredients

  • 2 large potatoes – approximate cost $0.50
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt – approximate cost $0.05
  • Oil for frying – approximate cost $0.50

Method

  1. Draw an oval on a small piece of paper.
  2. Fill in the details showing where you need to cut to make a fish shape.
  3. Preheat a frying pan with enough oil to shallow-fry the potatoes.
  4. Set the paper near your cutting board as a reference.
  5. Slice the potato so you have several large oval-shaped pieces.
  6. Follow your diagram to cut the potato slice into a fish shape.
  7. Use a chopstick (or similar tool) to poke a hole in the potato where you would like the fish’s “eye.”
  8. Repeat steps 4-7 for each of the oval slices.
  9. Cut the unused pieces of potato into bite-sized pieces.
  10. Salt the potato pieces.
  11. Fry the fish-shaped potatoes and bite-sized pieces in batches so as not to overcrowd the frying pan
  12. Turn the potatoes once when about half-cooked (after approximately 5 minutes).
  13. Continue to fry until cooked through (about 10 minutes total, depending on the thickness of your chips).
  14. Remove from oil.
  15. Allow chips to drain on a paper towel.
  16. Serve hot and enjoy!

Makes 4-6 fish-shaped chips and bite-sized chips (approximate cost: $0.53 per serving).


My previous Improv Challenge contributions include:

Previous Post
Leave a comment

35 Comments

  1. How fun is this?? So kid friendly but I sure would eat them too 🙂

    Reply
    • For sure! I’m not sure I would make them again for just Bryan and I. But if we ever have some of our friend’s children visiting this will definitely be on the menu! They’re very easy to make and quite fun!

      Reply
  2. These are very cute. What a great idea. This really would be fun for kids. How about fish shaped chips with actual fish? Might be a way to get a picky eater to eat fish. Wish it would work on my hubby.

    Reply
    • Thanks! Hmmmmm that might be a bit more tricky. So many types of fish are flaky. Might work if you deep fry it! I’d love to hear if you can use this idea to get a picky eater to give fish a try!

      Reply
  3. Oh so creative! My guys would love these!

    Reply
    • Thanks! Yes, they’re very fun. And easy to make, it’s a great way to have everyone involved in the cooking process!

      Reply
  4. Oh how cute! My kids would love these. Gonna have to give this a go! Great idea.

    Reply
  5. What a cute idea! I was worried about this challenge, but it turned out to be the most fun, no? 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Cathy! Yes, I was also a bit worried about this one in that I thought there wouldn’t be much variety. Glad to see I was wrong!

      Reply
  6. Absolutely adorable! What a great idea!

    Reply
  7. Love this!! I would love a fish shaped potato chip any day of the week.

    Reply
  8. Great, creative response to the challenge, Amber. So glad you weren’t constrained to only the traditional fish and chips. I need to go check out some of the other responses.

    Reply
  9. I bet these would be especially good with a bit dollop of sour cream! Great choice and so cute!

    Reply
    • Or ketchup, or avocado mayo, or a side of bacon, or…. I could go on for a while. 🙂

      Reply
  10. These are just cute and clever. You’re an artist with that knife! Don’t you love the Improv? I am really enjoying it and I’m not a fishe-eating person at all. But I could do your fish-shaped chips! Liked you on FB.

    Wishes for tasty dishes,
    Linda@Tumbleweed Contessa

    Reply
  11. What a fun idea!
    Mimi

    Reply
  12. mjskit

     /  June 23, 2013

    These are great! I bet you did have fun. They certainly make me smile. 🙂

    Reply
  13. How creative! (ah, and SUPER freaking cute!!!!)

    Reply
  14. I love this!!! What a cute play on the fish and chip theme!!

    Reply
  15. What a cool idea!!! you did it! the fishies look cute & tasty too! I think I would spice them up a bit!

    Reply
  1. Improv Challenge: Peaches and Herbs (Pork Chops with a Peach and Sage Glaze) | The Cook's Sister

Leave a Reply

