Leibster Blog Award and Panko-Crusted Sole Fillets

A big thank you to Jon from The Local Kitchener who nominated me for the Liebster Blog Award! If you haven’t yet, check out Jon’s blog. I’m not sure how Jon came across my blog, but I am glad he did! We’re just a hop-skip-and-a-jump away from each other. He is the first food blogger that I’ve met (online only) in the same(ish) city. I’m thrilled to meet another blogger in the area!

liebster-award

The Liebster award is a fun way of highlighting smaller blogs within the blogging community. Leibster, I’m told, German word meaning “beloved, dearest, lovely, etc.”

Here are the rules of the Leibster award as I understand them. The blog/blogger nominated for the award…

  • Answers 11 questions posed by the nominator. (In my case, Jon has given me 7)
  • Nominates 11 other blogs (with 200 or fewer followers)
  • Creates their own new set of questions for the nominees.

Some set of rules call for 11 questions and nominations… other for 5.

My questions and responses

  1. How would you describe where you live without naming any places?
    1. Hi-tech university town with lots of Canadian geese.
  2. When was the last time you wrote a letter (a real one, you know, that you sent in the mail with a stamp)?
    1. Do cards with a short message count? If so, just yesterday! If not… probably 6 or 7 years ago. My childhood best friend and I exchanged letters for many years before switching to Facebook.
  3. What is your favorite non-English word?
    1. Okonomiyaki — It’s a Japanese cabbage-pancake type dish.
  4. What (if any) blogs did you follow before you started blogging?
    1. I followed quite a few. I know I followed Jeanette’s first blog — she now maintains This Dusty House. And I definitely followed, and still follow The Kitchn.   I follow many many more since I started blogging.
  5. Do dogs belong in the city?
    1. Yes. I love dogs. I couldn’t imagine a city without them! In fact, just last night, I stopped to pet 3 wonderful and friendly dogs while walking to the post office and back. It made my day so much brighter! I could get carried away answering this one, but I’ll stop here.
  6. Are there any books that you have lent to more than one person (and if so, what is it called)?
    1. No. I don’t often lend books. I tend to need them for school. I’m also quite particular about their condition. However, there are quite a few that I could recommend from my own collection. Stardust by Neil Gaiman, Sabriel by Garth Nix, Snowcrash by Neil Stephenson, The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton, Menace by L.R. Wright, the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling… and many many more! I’ve also got a huge list of books that I would like to read!
  7. Do you plan your meals in advance, or just “wing it”?
    1. A bit of both. I tend to plan, at most, a day ahead of time. We tend to have a full freezer with a good selection of meat and vegetables. If I remember, I’ll take food out of the freezer ahead of time. If not, it may mean a trip to the grocery store. It usually depends on how groggy I am in the morning! Often, I’ll have to make a quick trip to the grocery store to buy a few things I don’t have on hand.

Nominees

(I wish I could list all the lovely blogs that I follow. I’ve done my best to adhere to the 200 followers or fewer rule. However, in some cases, this information was not available.)

In no particular order…

  1. A Corso in the Kitchen
  2. Ginger Bakes
  3. Miz Helen’s Country Cottage
  4. RV Life and Food
  5. Cookaholic Wife
  6. Cook Lisa Cook
  7. The Not So Desperate Chef Wife
  8. Cupcakes and Kale Chips
  9. The Ranch Wife Chronicles
  10. From My Sweet Heart
  11. Bark Time = Everything and Nothing

Questions for nominees

  1. What 3 words would you choose to describe yourself?
  2. Do you have a blogging mentor who has made a huge difference along the way?
  3. Have you met any of your blogging friends in real life?
  4. What inspires you to continue writing your blog?
  5. What is your favourite family recipe?
  6. Which of your own blog posts are you most proud of?
  7. What is your favourite type of food?
  8. What is your favourite pastime?
  9. Where would you most like to go for your dream vacation and why?
  10. What is your favourite genre of music?
  11. If someone made a film about your life, who would you want to play you?

And now… as if this post wasn’t long enough already… here’s a recipe! I’ve been hanging on to this one for a while. I made it a while back and served the fish with an Asian-Inspired Bean Sprout Salad with Citrus and Soy Dressing. It’s not a family recipe. I didn’t really have a story to go along with it. This seemed like a good opportunity to share it with you. (It was delicious and I couldn’t not share this with the world!)

Panko-Crusted Sole Fillets

Ingredients

  • 4 sole fillets – approximate cost $6.00
  • 1 cup panko bread crumbs – approximate cost $1.00
  • 1/8 cup parmesan cheese – approximate cost $0.50
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning – approximate cost $0.10
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt – approximate cost $0.05

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Combine the panko bread crumbs, parmesan cheese, Italian seasoning, and sea salt in a large mixing bowl.
  3. Mix well.
  4. Rinse the fish in cold water.
  5. Place the fish in the panko mix.
  6. Cover with panko mix.
  7. Gently press the panko mix so it sticks to the fish fillet.
  8. Turn the fillet.
  9. Cover with panko mix.
  10. Gently press the panko mix so it sticks to the fish fillet.
  11. Move to a baking sheet.
  12. Bake until cooked through (about 15 minutes).
  13. Serve and enjoy!

Makes 4 servings (approximate cost: $1.91 per serving).

Wednesday Link Parties

Cast Party Wednesday

White Lights on Wednesdays

Fluster Buster

Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. Thank you for the nomination !

    Reply
  2. Amber,
    Thank you for the nomination. I appreciate your thoughtfulness and that you read my blog! I am going to have to decline the nomination as I have been nominated before.

    Reply
  3. Congratulations, Amber. Better build a showcase. You’re sure to have more awards coming your way.

    Reply
  4. Congratulations Amber! Love the Q&A! it’s always fun learning more about my blogging buddies!

    Reply
  5. Great response to the questions, Amber! Thanks for continuing to spread the blog love 🙂
    So is Okonomiyaki good? I’ll have to check it out, there’s plenty of cabbage around here most of the year!

    Reply
    • It’s very good! My former roommate and I used to make it all the time. Not only is it delicious, it’s quite affordable! This recipe is similar to the one we used to make: http://www.wikihow.com/Make-Okonomiyaki (You can get the Japanese Mayo (we consider this the most important topping) and other specialty ingredients at New City Market downtown)

      Reply
      • Oh awesome, thanks! I’ve never been there but we go to the Kitchener Market all the time and walk right behind that place! I’ll check it out soon.

        Reply
  6. Congratulations on your Leibster Award! I enjoyed reading your answers to the questions. Thank you so much for nominating me for this award, however I do have to many followers to qualify, it was so sweet of you to think of me. Hope you are having a great weekend and thanks for sharing!
    Miz Helen

    Reply
  7. I just love panko! Looks delish!

    Reply
  8. Congratulations Amber, I’ll check out Jon’s blog — always nice to find a fellow Canadian blogger. What a lovely dish you made with the fish and the panko, it is such a versatile coating, I actually like it better than just bread crumbs, so much more depth. And adding the Parmesan to it will help with the crunch and the flavour factor. Panko and Parmesan are a favourite in our home.

    Reply
    • Thanks Eva! While I often have panko around for making tonkatsu, I’ve only started using panko in place of bread crumbs. I must say, I can see why you like it so much!

      Reply
  9. Congrats on the ward! Yeah for you! 🙂 Great answers too! A tasty panko encrusted fish recipe too! I love panko too!

    Reply
  10. Hi Amber! I love those sole fillets….don’t you just love encrusting everything with panko?! They look so crispy, crunchy and good! Congratulations on your well deserved Liebster award and I thank you so much for passing it on to me. I truly appreciate your kindness!

    Reply
  1. Another Leibster Nomination and Berkshire Pork Chops with Roasted Garlic Asparagus | The Cook's Sister

Leave a comment