Behind The Curtain Dessert Challenge: Strawberries and Raspberries (Stewed Rhubarb with Strawberries and Raspberries)

Woah, what’s this… two posts in one week?!

I’m posting twice this week so that I can participate in the Behind The Curtain Dessert Challenge hosted by Lady Behind the Curtain (you might remember that I guest posted on Sheryl’s blog back in January). I’ve been on the mailing list for this challenge since it began. I don’t often eat desserts, so it might seem weird that I chose to be on the mailing list at all. However, it’s not that I don’t like desserts, I just dislike foods that are overly sweet.

This month’s challenge ingredients called to me… and I couldn’t pass this one up. Strawberries and raspberries!

Strawberries are in season here in Ontario and I can’t get enough of them. Seriously! I bought some last week intending to come up with something for the challenge and ended up just eating them all plain. Yum!

So, this week I made a trip out to the St. Jacobs Farmers’ Market to pick up some delicious local produce. My intention was to buy just a few things: fruit for the challenge and something for dinner. I should know better… $50 later I came home with as many groceries as I could possibly carry. I found some lovely local strawberries, rhubarb, and last season’s potatoes, raspberries (though I’m not sure where they came from), turkey hearts, pig tails, and a few other treats. We’ll be eating well this week!

When I came across the rhubarb, I knew I had to somehow work that into my dessert. But what to make… I briefly considered baking a pie. I thought about making a crumble. Another cobbler perhaps? However, I decided to go with a chunky stewed rhubarb. The rhubarb was only sold in large bundles, and stewed rhubarb is really versatile and I thought we would enjoy it because of the numerous ways you can serve it. Stewed rhubarb is great as an ice cream, yogurt, oatmeal, pancake, waffle, or biscuit topping, or as a filling for crepes. I ate my first serving plain. Yum!

Stewed Rhubarb with Strawberries and Raspberries

Inspired by, but much different from, my grandmother’s recipe.

Note: I used fresh produce to make this recipe. It would likely also work well with frozen produce if that’s what is available to you.

Ingredients

  • 4 cups rhubarb, peeled and chopped into 1/2 inch pieces – approximate cost $3.00
  • 3/4 cup cane sugar – approximate cost $1.25
  • 2 tablespoons lemon – approximate cost $0.20
  • 3 tablespoons water
  • 1 cup raspberries – approximate cost $2.00
  • 3 cups strawberries – approximate cost $4.00

Method

  1. Combine the rhubarb pieces, cane sugar, lemon, and water in a large pot.
  2. Bring to a boil.
  3. Reduce heat.
  4. Simmer for 15 minutes.
  5. Add strawberries and raspberries.
  6. Continue to simmer for 5 minutes.
  7. Remove from heat.
  8. Allow to cool.
  9. Serve on it’s own or with ice cream, yogurt, oatmeal, pancakes, waffles, biscuits, crepes.

Makes about 10 servings (approximate cost: $1.05 per serving).

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Leave a comment

16 Comments

  1. My Great Aunt made a fabulous strawberry Rhubarb jam when I was little that I absolutely loved, I can only image how wonderful this would taste! I love the uniqueness of the flavors! Yummo 🙂 Krista @ A Handful of Everything

    Reply
    • Thanks Krista! I’m sure this would make a fantastic flavour for a jam if you added a lot more sugar. 🙂 It does have a similar consistency.

      Reply
  2. Love the addition of rhubarb! I wouldn’t mind a bowl of that right now 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks Jutta! The rhubarb adds a nice tartness — and the berries add some sweetness. A good balance!

      Reply
  3. theninjabaker

     /  June 13, 2013

    What a delectable oh-so-good for you dessert! Thank you for the crystal clear photo instructional and recipe =)

    Reply
  4. Your stewed fruit looks magnificent! I love that the berries are just cooked for 5 minutes. Perfect ice cream topper…though I’d eat it right from the bowl 🙂

    Reply
    • Tanks Liz! Yes, the berries keep their shape that way. I also prefer not to cook them as long because it’s nice to differentiate the berries from the rhubarb.

      Reply
  5. I love that you added rhubarb! I have never cooked with rhubarb before. This topping sounds great for some frozen yogurt or ice cream this summer!

    Reply
  6. STrawberry rhubarb is a great combination, but I love your addition of the raspberries! I could easily smother a little scoop of ice cream or frozen yogurt with this. Great challenge recipe!

    Reply
  7. i have never tried rhubarb before. but concoction looks very tempting !

    Reply
    • It’s not for everyone. It’s a very bitter taste. Give it a try sometime! As a child, I would eat it straight from the garden, dipped in sugar.

      Reply
  8. I also,made this & enjoyed it over vegan coconut ice-Cream & it was superb, Amber! MMMMMMMMMMMM!

    Reply
    • Ohhhh vegan coconut ice cream? Any chance it was homemade and will appear on your blog? 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it!!!

      Reply

Leave a comment